21
Sep
09

Fall Themed Cupcakes


Today is the final day of summer. With a touch of fall in the air this morning, I decided to start working on some cupcake ideas.   The chocolate cake recipe that I use domes really big.  These cupcakes work perfectly for little pumpkins.  What do you think?

Chocolate cupcakes dressed in pumpkin costumes

Chocolate cupcakes dressed in pumpkin costumes

Tell me if you want a step by step tutorial.  Otherwise, I’ll just keep working on new ideas.  Fall forward!

12 Responses to “Fall Themed Cupcakes”


  1. September 22, 2009 at 6:20 am

    Mmmmm…. I had one of these adorable cupcakes before bed…. I guess the other 3 are coming with me to the office in the morning. You’re turning into a celebrity around my office, darling. And I get to say that I knew you first.

  2. September 23, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    Oh… My… Goodness. Again, why do I read your blog at 8:30 a.m.? It just makes me prematurely hungry!

    Those look amazing. I’m sending this page to my friend who bakes. You inspire me and undoubtedly thousands of others with your creativity and expertise.

    I’m buying that cookbook when it’s out!

  3. September 23, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    And we’re buying your book when it hits the stores! Thanks again, Megan, for your kind comments. Those little pumpkins were fun to make and even more fun to photograph in my little garden. And, you read my blog in the morning to get your saliva rolling! Have an awesome day!!!

  4. 4 atiredwife
    September 23, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    Chocolate cake recipe for the cupcakes? Do tell!

  5. 5 Meghan
    July 28, 2010 at 4:38 pm

    These cupcakes are absolutely perfect for my best friend’s baby shower. It will be in October and we were toying with the idea of a “Little Pumpkin” theme. I would really appreciate it if you could send me step by step instructions on how you made these. So adorable!! Thank you!!

    • July 28, 2010 at 11:53 pm

      Hello Meghan!

      Ok, I can tell you how to make these. They are really easy. I’ll have to dig through my tools to give you the exact pastry tip sizes I used. Be patient with me, I’m on vacation this week. I’ll be in touch.
      VG

      • 7 jennifer
        June 25, 2011 at 2:53 am

        Hello! I am doing a pumpkin theme for my daughter’s first birthday and would love this recipe!

  6. 8 kbakesem'
    September 8, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    I have been searching for cute fall cupcake ideas and thus far, yours is what I like.

  7. 9 Claudine
    September 14, 2011 at 7:33 pm

    Hi -I just happened on this blog as I was searching for fall themed cupcakes – I too am wanting make some for my daughter’s first birthday – would you mind helping me out with the recipe ?

    • September 14, 2011 at 7:47 pm

      Search in my blog for the post called “Vampire Gran’s Perfect Chocolate Cake”. You will find the recipe there. As for the frosting, just make vanilla buttercream and tint it orange (I use gel, not the liquid food color). Be sure to save some frosting to tint brown for the stem and green for the tendrils. Mound the frosting on the cupcake and use a toothpick to make the grooves. Use a larger round tip to make the stem and a tiny round tip for the tendrils. if you have any more questions, please feel free to leave a comment. Have fun!

  8. 11 julie
    October 9, 2011 at 8:07 pm

    You’re so creative! If you were going to go for an acorn look instead of a pumpkin, how would you shape it?


Leave a Reply

Foodbuzz

Foodbuzz
Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 102 other followers


