19
Oct
12

whatever, I need a grilled cheese!


With the return of the cooler weather here in the Pacific Northwest, the fall season has begun.  People are busting out their sweaters and umbrellas here in Portland.  Katie is sporting her leg warmers and fingerless gloves and I am craving comfort food.  I have no need for the warm clothing, as I am a hot blooded, menopausal woman.  What I do have a need for is melted cheese.  That’s warming, right?  No, I do not apply it to my body, although it does manage to find it’s way to my thighs, butt and stomach region.  Oh, and probably to my grandmotherly fat arms.  But, like the squirrels in our yard, I need a little extra padding for the winter, or so I tell myself.  Whatever, I need a grilled cheese sandwich.

So, today when I came home from work, I celebrated my Friday with a tasty grilled cheese and apple sandwich.  I figured since people like cheese melted over their apple pie, well some people do, then a sandwich made with cheese and apple might be pretty good.  I was right!  It’s pretty basic really, just bread, cheese and apple.  I used Havarti cheese, an apple from our tree in the back yard, I believe it is called a King apple, Dave’s Killer Bread and coconut oil.

The perfect fall lunch!

Up close and personal

This sandwich would be good with any kind of cheese, apples or bread.  The King apple was super crisp before I grilled the sandwich, but it did not snap when I bit into it.  The Havarti and apple just married perfectly.

Don’t be afraid, or turn up your nose, just try it. It’s not weird, it’s good.

3 Responses to “whatever, I need a grilled cheese!”


  1. October 21, 2012 at 4:22 pm

    What a great idea! I’ve been eating apples with blue cheese lately but I never thought of putting apple and cheese together in a sandwich! 🙂
    When I grill my grilled cheese sandwiches, I also like to sprinkle the outside with a bit of parmesan!

    • October 21, 2012 at 5:45 pm

      Hey, that’s a great idea! I have been know n to sprinkle Parmesan on the outside of quesadillas. Never thought about grilled cheese. Thanks for the suggestion!

  2. January 2, 2013 at 5:45 pm

    Okay, you got me with this one, vampire gran. I too love grilled cheese–and apples. I’ve had apples with sharp cheedar on a croissant–but not grilled. My favorite grilled cheese involves Havarti, hard salami, red peppers, proscuitto and Muenster–on whole wheat bread to hold it all. Damn, now I WANT one!
    Hello!


Leave a Reply

Foodbuzz

Foodbuzz
Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 102 other followers


