21
Sep
09

Chocolate Cake with Hazelnut Frosting


This past week, a co-worker ordered a cake from me.  It was for her Grandmother’s birthday party.  Both Katie (the co-worker) and her mother LOVE my hazelnut frosting.  So do I!  They also love chocolate.  This hazelnut frosting and buttermilk chocolate cake are perfect together.  The light, sweetness of the frosting with the dense, dark chocolate of the cake are a match made in dessert heaven.  Here is a picture of Grandma Elsie’s cake.

Chocolate Buttermilk Cake with Hazelnut Frosting

Chocolate Buttermilk Cake with Hazelnut Frosting

The chocolate leaves were simple to make.  I went into my garden, picked some raspberry leaves, coated them in melted dark chocolate, let them sit in the freezer until firm and gently pulled the “real” leaves off.  Make sure you use leaves that are not sprayed or poisonous!

Of, course, as always with me, I had left over cake batter and frosting so I made a few things for my spouse to bring to her job.  I only had enough frosting left over for one cupcake after frosting three individual cakes and I sprinkled them with toasted hazelnuts.

Same cake, different presentation

Same cake, different presentation

I used the same Vanilla Frosting recipe that is in my Elephant Cupcake post and added 1/2 cup hazelnut paste to it.  You may be wondering where to buy hazelnut paste.  Well, it can be tricky to find.  I would suggest calling some upscale foodie markets and shops first.  If they don’t carry it in your area, go online and order it.  There are a lot of sites that sell it, just Google hazelnut paste.  Or you can try making your own.  If you have a Champion juicer, just toast the hazelnuts and put them through using the homogenizing method. 

Well, I am back to the kitchen to work on more goodies to share with you!

9 Responses to “Chocolate Cake with Hazelnut Frosting”


  1. September 23, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    8:30 a.m., latte on the window sill, mouth watering as I look at that luscious cake and those incredible cupcakes. You’re a baking goddess! We should give you a Roman name and worship you daily. (smile)

    • September 23, 2009 at 3:50 pm

      You could follow my lead, Megan… I call her Madam ‘P’ and worship her as much as she lets me get away with.

      As the peripheral beneficiaries of many of the sweet delights that come out of Madam P’s kitchen, my co-workers also border on adoration.

      There’s a spare bed in our home with your name on it, Megan…. meals are included.

  2. September 23, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    I knew that frosting would catch your eye! Hazelnut paste may be difficult to find, but oh, so worth it!

  3. 4 Lyn
    September 30, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    This cake looks so yummy! Do you provide recipes?

    • September 30, 2009 at 7:09 pm

      Hi Lyn,

      Thanks for your comment and compliment. The chocolate cake recipe is in my post entitled “Vampiregran Gran’s Perfect Chocolate Cake” and the frosting recipe is in my “Elephant Cupcake” post, just add hazelnut paste to the Vanilla Frosting recipe. It is so good!

  4. 6 Lyn
    October 14, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    I made your perfect chocolate cake recipe and the vanilla frosting from your elephant cupcakes. WOW! I added Nutella to the frosting instead of hazelnut paste. AMAZING! Thank you for sharing.

  5. October 14, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    Lyn,

    I am SO happy that you tried my recipe and enjoyed it so much. That really means a lot to me. Tell the world about Vampire Gran’s website, please. Have a great day and keep on baking.

    Patty

  6. January 31, 2011 at 10:12 am

    am pastry chef from Uganda Kampala city have tried and liked it cos it’s fluffy,moist and delicious.

    • January 31, 2011 at 2:04 pm

      I’m so glad you tried this recipe and that you liked it. I do love a good buttercream! Thanks for reading the blog.


Leave a Reply

Foodbuzz

Foodbuzz
Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 102 other followers


