23
Sep
09

Vampire Gran’s Perfect Chocolate Cake


Perfect Chocolate Buttermilk Cupcakes

Perfect Chocolate Buttermilk Cupcakes

I received a comment on my last post asking for my Chocolate Cupcake recipe.  I like to share and am pleased to pass this recipe on to my blog fans and followers.

Vampire Gran’s Perfect Chocolate Cake

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

.75# AP flour

.75# granulated sugar

1/2 tsp salt

3/4 Tbsp baking soda

1/2 cup cocoa powder (unsweetened)

3/4 cup vegetable oil

2 eggs

1/2 tbsp vanilla

3/4 cup buttermilk

3/4 cup HOT strong coffee

Sift over mixing bowl flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt.  Using an electric mixer, add oil and mix.  It will be a dry paste.  Stir eggs and vanilla together and add to the mixing bowl.  Mix in buttermilk.  Scrape bowl often.  Carefully and slowly, add hot coffee, a small amount at a time.  The batter will be very thin.  Be sure the bowl is well scraped and all of the solids have mixed in smoothly.

Using a 1/4 cup disher, portion out into paper lined cupcake pans.  Bake in preheated 350 degree oven for 23 – 25 minutes, until toothpick comes out clean.

Makes approximately 24 medium cupcakes.

8 Responses to “Vampire Gran’s Perfect Chocolate Cake”


  1. September 24, 2009 at 5:13 pm

    I love your site! You have such creative sweet ideas. This recipe is right up my alley! Thanks for sharing!

    • September 24, 2009 at 9:14 pm

      Thank You Christine! I checked out your blog and it made me hungry. Let me know if you try this recipe. I have always had great success with it.

  2. 3 atiredwife
    September 24, 2009 at 6:50 pm

    Ooooh – thank you!

    • September 24, 2009 at 9:15 pm

      My pleasure. Let me know how they turn out.

  3. 5 Lyn
    October 2, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    I have a dumb question…

    Does .75# mean 3/4 of a pound?? 🙂

    • October 2, 2009 at 4:14 pm

      Lyn, there is no such thing as a dumb question. Only dumb answers. You are correct, .75# means 3/4 of a pound. Sorry for the confusion. I’m used to writing and reading professional measurements. Tell me how the recipe turns out.

  4. 7 Dad
    November 7, 2009 at 3:50 am

    vampiregran,
    I love coffee and I am going to try this recipe for this chocalte cake.
    It looks scrumptous. I will let you know how it turns out.
    Christinecancook’s Dad

    • November 8, 2009 at 12:54 am

      CCC’s Dad,

      You are so sweet, just like your daughter, I’ll bet. Let me know how you like the cake. It’s always a hit whenever I make it for someone.

      Patty aka Vampire Gran


Leave a Reply

Foodbuzz

Foodbuzz
Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 102 other followers


