17
Apr
12

Waffles. They’re not just for breakfast.


I love waffles.  I never realized how much I love them until I received the ultimate waffle maker.  Katie gifted me with this fabulous beauty for my birthday this year.

The Kitchen Aid Pro Line

I always coveted the fancy flippy Belgian waffle makers in restaurants and hotels.  Now I have one of my very own and use it weekly.  I thought people were kidding when I read reviews online saying that they make waffles everyday.  Really?  Well, Katie eats a waffle almost every day.  A quarter of one, at least.  They make a great snack.  Just heat them on a low setting in your toaster to re-crisp.  I make a batch on the weekend and freeze them.  Individually wrapped and placed in a freezer bag, they stay fresh for at least a month or two.  Although, we go through them pretty quickly.  I made a big batch to send to Katie’s work for a breakfast function her department was hosting.  All she had to do to re-heat them was place them directly on the oven racks of a pre-heated oven for five minutes and they were good to go.  I heard a lot of the food was left over, but all of the waffles disappeared!

Best waffles I've ever tasted

I’ve made whole grain waffles and chocolate chip waffles.  On Valentine’s Day I made chocolate waffles and served them with a scoop of Hagen Daz Vanilla ice cream and warm cherry sauce on top. But our favorite waffles are the spicy savory kind.  They don’t need topping at all!  I’ve added a few extras to the recipe that came with my waffle maker and they are soooo good.  Try it and you be the judge.

Spicy Cornmeal Cheddar Waffles

 1 ½ cups flour

½ cup cornmeal

1 1/3 cups shredded cheddar cheese (or cheese of your choice

1 tablespoon baking powder

2 teaspoons sugar

½ teaspoon salt

½ -1 teaspoon cayenne pepper

 

1 2/3 cup milk or non-dairy milk (I use soy)

2 eggs

1/3 cup canola or vegetable oil

 

1 serrano pepper, chopped

1 jalapeño pepper, chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

2 – 3 tablespoons soyrizo

In a large bowl, combine flour, cornmeal, cheese, baking powder, sugar salt and cayenne pepper.  In another bowl combine milk, eggs and oil.  Add liquid to dry ingredients; mix gently unitl moistened.  Gently fold in the remaining savory ingredients.

Cook in a preheated waffle maker according to instructions.  They are usually done in about 3 ½ to 4 minutes.

Light, crispy, spicy goodness

 

4 Responses to “Waffles. They’re not just for breakfast.”


  1. 1 pamasaurus
    April 18, 2012 at 1:26 am

    YUMMM! Waffles are one of my top five foods. I could seriously eat them all day, everyday. Definitely going to be trying this!

    • April 18, 2012 at 4:32 am

      Do try them. I promise you will be delighted.

  2. April 18, 2012 at 1:46 am

    Don’t let my darling wife kid you; she’s being modest. Yes, she made delicious chocolate waffles for dessert on Valentine’s day, but did she mention that they had teeny, tiny chocolate chips in them? Oh yeah, chocolate chocolate chip waffles! Heavenly!!!

    Yes, she put Hagen Daz vanilla ice cream on top of the waffles, but did she mention that she softened the ice cream, scooped it into a cake pan, spread the ice cream evenly one-half-inch deep in the bottom of the cake pan, and put it back into the freezer to get the ice cream hard again? She then used a heart shaped cookie cutter to cut out vanilla ice cream medallions which she stacked on top of warm chocolate chocolate chip waffles right out of the waffle iron!

    And she made the warm cherry sauce herself too, which she ladled on top of the stack of heart shaped vanilla ice cream medallions on top of the warm chocolate chocolate chip waffles.

    Did my Beloved mention that her wife is totally spoiled? Yes I am.

    • April 18, 2012 at 4:33 am

      You’re not the only one around here who is spoiled. Remember, you bought me the deluxe waffle maker. I love you!


Leave a Reply

Foodbuzz

Foodbuzz
Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 102 other followers


