05
Jan
14

Let’s get crafty!


Part of my daily Tuesday routine is to deliver meals to seniors in the Sellwood area.  Meals on Wheels is a fantastic organization providing 5,000 meals a day to Portland seniors, as well as people with disabilities.  It is my pleasure to serve these folks meals, as well as to form a friendly bond with them.

I thought it would be fun to make each of my clients a special treat for the holidays this past Christmas.  Since Christmas Eve was on a Tuesday, it was perfect for gift giving.  I baked some extra soft Snickerdoodles and Ginger Molasses cookies for my friends.  I wanted to present them in a special way. There were some pictures of cool little tree shaped boxes in a Better Homes and Gardens magazine and I decided to try a little crafty action.  The boxes were perfect for the tiny cookies.  Here is how they turned out:

christmas 2013 006-001

christmas 2013 005-001

christmas 2013 002-001

I used poster board and glue sticks from the Dollar Tree.  I did have to purchase a bone folder from JoAnn’s Fabrics, but with a coupon it only cost $2.99.  And, hey, you can always use the bone folder for other craft projects.  I used the glue stick to attach wrapping paper on the fancier trees.  Just glue the paper on and trace your pattern on the opposite side.  Easy peasy, right?

If you would like to make tree boxes yourself, go to BHG.com/PaperTrees to download the template.  They are simple to make and a lot of fun.


1 Response to “Let’s get crafty!”


  1. January 6, 2014 at 4:09 pm

    These are gorgeous– and what a kind thing to do!


Leave a comment


Foodbuzz

Foodbuzz
Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 100 other subscribers