30
Jun
09

What I do with Left Over Frosting……


Carrot Cake with Coconut Cream Cheese Frosting and fresh berries from our yard!

Carrot Cake with Coconut Cream Cheese Frosting and fresh berries from our yard!

 

 I had a lot of that frosting left over from Nathan and Sarah’s reception cake so I decided to make a carrot cake.  I bake for my profession but I also bake at home to relax.  Crazy?  I don’t think so.  I am fortunate that I get paid to do something I love everyday.

I found this great carrot cake recipe in Nick Malgieri’s book “Perfect Cakes”.  Here is that recipe:

Martha Turner’s Carrot Cake

2 cups all-purpose flour(spoon flour into dry-measure cup and level off)

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

4 large eggs

2 cups sugar

1 1/2 cups vegetable oil, such as corn or canola (I used canola)

2 cups peeled and finely grated carrots ( about 4 large carrots)

one 8-ounce can crushed pineapple in juice

3/4 (about 3 ounces pecans, coarsely chopped (I used walnuts instead)

( added 1 cup of shredded coconut)

Three 2-inch deep  9-inch cake pans, buttered and bottoms lined with buttered parchment or wax paper.

1. Set racks in the upper and lower thirds of the ove n and preheat to 325 degrees.

2. Stir together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and cinnamon in a bowl, mixing well.

3. Whisk the eggs in a large mixing bowl.  Whisk in the sugar and continue whisking briefly until light, about 1 minute.  Whisk in oil in a slow stream.

4. Stir in the carrots, the pineapple with its juice, and the nuts, then fold in the dry ingredients.  Scrape the batter into prepared pans and smooth the tops.

5. Bake for about 45 minutes, switching the position of the pans top and bottom and back to front, once during baking, until the cake layers are firm and golden and a toothpick inserted in the center emerges clean.

6.  Cool the cake in the pans for 10 minutes, then invert onto racks to finish cooling.  Remove paper before icing.

OK, that was copied word for word from the book.  I used two 9 inch pans instead of three.  I have a convection oven so I baked both pans on the same rack and did not do the maneuvering thing.  I also let the cakes cool completely in their pans and then removed them. 

Coconut Cream Cheese Frosting

(This is my own personal recipe)

1 pound cream cheese, softened

1/2 pound butter, softened

2 pounds powdered sugar

1 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon pure vanilla

1 teaspoon lemon juice

2 ounces water

4 cups  sweetened shredded coconut

Place all of the ingredients except for the coconut into mixing bowl of stand mixer fitted with paddle.  Start slow so the powdered sugar doesn’t fly everywhere.  Stop/start the machine if you have to.  Once everything is pretty well mixed, gradually increase the speed until you can whip it at full force.  Whip until light and white.  Stop machine and mix in the coconut.  The frosting is ready to use.  It may be refrigerated but bring it to room temperature before frosting a cake.  Enjoy!!

Carrot Cake with Coconut Cream Cheese Frosting - Someone said it had too much frosting.  Frosting lovers, is this possible?

Carrot Cake with Coconut Cream Cheese Frosting - Someone said it had too much frosting. Frosting lovers, is this possible?

 

You can garnish the cake with what ever your heart desires.  We just happen to have a lot of berries growing in our yard, so…….

5 Responses to “What I do with Left Over Frosting……”


  1. July 5, 2009 at 1:22 pm

    There’s no such thing as “too much frosting,” on a cake or anywhere else. Frosting is God’s way of rewarding us for being alive. And hungry. And sugar addicts. And cake lovers…

    Oh how I love your blog — makes my mouth water!

  2. July 6, 2009 at 2:05 am

    Good, my plan is working! Perhaps you will be hopping on a plane soon and come meet us. We are getting five star ratings from all of the guests we have entertained in our home/get-a-way retreat. Make a reservation soon!

  3. 3 Mary Riley
    August 1, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    OK, Patty, now I have to ask…with all this gorgeous, mouth-watering food you cook, how come you don’t weigh 300 lbs? You must be very good with portion control, or exercise a lot? Or just have a great metabolism?

    • August 1, 2009 at 9:32 pm

      LOL! I get that question a lot. It’s all in the mind. If you believe something you eat will make you fat, it will. I also don’t eat a lot of the sweet stuff I show on my site because they were made for clients or special treats for Katie’s work mates. But don’t get me wrong, I have a wicked sweet tooth, but I like the really good stuff and you can only eat a small amount of that; it’s too rich or intense, like really expensive super dark chocolate. Or home made ice cream made with heavy cream, half n half, and egg yolks. !/2 cup of that is totally satisfying. I always have cookie dough portioned up in my freezer and only bake off a couple at a time when we feel like we want a fresh, warm cookie.

  4. 5 Kelly
    August 29, 2009 at 8:32 pm

    All things in moderation….even moderation!


Leave a Reply

Foodbuzz

Foodbuzz
Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 102 other followers


