21
Jun
09

Better late than never


Well, it seems I ‘ve been neglectful far too long on my blog site here.  Life has a way of getting in the way of writing sometimes.  A few weeks a ago I was comissioned to make a “wedding cake” for a co-worker.  On the day of the reception,  Nathan and Sarah had been married for 4 years, 4 months and 24 days……………

As Nate’s mother pointed out in her speech, the party was for her.  The newlyweds had waited until his mom was out of town and quietly went to city hall and did the deed.  The groom’s mother always wanted to have a wedding and reception for her oldest child but, as often happens with parents, her dreams were dashed and the kid gets their way.

Nathan and Sarah are now playing the parts of responsible adults – they bought their first house, are expecting their first child and are finally having a wedding reception, thanks to his loving mother.

The couple ordered a Lemon Cake with Raspberry Filling topped with Coconut Cream Cheese Frosting. 

Frosting in action

Frosting in action

Whoosh!!

Whoosh!!

OK, Bottom layer finished!

OK, Bottom layer finished!

Putting it all together on site

Putting it all together on site

Keep going, its almost time for the party!

Keep going, it's almost time for the party!

Cake table is set

Cake table is set

Ready for its close up - Lemon Cake, Raspberry Filling with Coconut Cream Cheese Frosting

Ready for it's close up - Lemon Cake, Raspberry Filling with Coconut Cream Cheese Frosting

5 Responses to “Better late than never”


  1. June 23, 2009 at 10:23 am

    It’s like you read my mind. I was wondering what you’d been up to (convinced there were more delicious cakes being made!). That cake looked amazing… You are mad talented and I loved seeing pictures of the cake in-progress.

    One of these days I’m just going to order something from you and have it shipped across the country. And I’ll most definitely fly you and Katie to the east coast if I ever get married, because I’m going to want one of those cakes at my own reception!

  2. June 23, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    Mmmmmmmm….. I’ve been eating that coconut cream cheese frosting by the spoonful for weeks…. I think my butt just got a little bigger.

  3. 3 Mollye
    July 2, 2009 at 7:01 pm

    This cake looks so good! I’m a fan of coconut cream cheese and I would love to eat some right now. Maybe I should suggest a cake like this to my friend who is getting married within the year. She has yet to make a decision on the type of cake she would like. Maybe showing her this blog will help. She also needs help in finding some Chicago Wedding Bands to play at her reception. I know of one great band, but it depends on if she finds them to be as great as I think they are. They play all kinds of wedding music depending on what kind of style you are looking for. So I guess I’ll see what she picks, and I can’t wait to help her listen to more music to find the perfect sound.

  4. July 2, 2009 at 8:47 pm

    Thanks, Mollye!

    In my blog entry entitled “What I do with Left Over Frosting I actually share my recipe for the Coconut Cream Cheese Frosting. You should give it a try and then you can eat to your heart’s content! Bon Appetit!


Leave a Reply

Foodbuzz

Foodbuzz
Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 102 other followers


