11
Aug
11

Sproutin’ off


Have you looked in your garage, attic or basement lately?  Do you even know what kind of treasure you have buried in those places?  I was rooting around the garage a few weeks back and unearthed a brand new sprout maker!  Katie and I have been packing this around for 4 years!  And before our 4 years together, she’d been packing it around since 2000!

So, it had been mentioned that we had a sprout maker in previous conversations, but I just thought she was talking about a jar with a screen lid, you know that kind?  Oh, hell no!  This is a $100 automatic sprinkler system sprout maker.  And it is soooo cool.  I can’t believe it’s been sitting in a box just waiting for me to discover the joy of it.  It’s also hard to believe that someone just gave it to Katie because she said she didn’t like it.  I don’t think this thing had ever been used.

My new toy

Here is what the automatic sprouter looks like.  It has a water chamber down below.  That blue tube in the center shoots the water up and there is a little sprinkler that rotates and waters the seeds.  There are two plastic trays that the seeds are sandwiched in between.  A motorized timer that has a “mind of it’s own” according to the instruction manual, decides when it is time to water.  It actually sprays several times per hour based on the ambient temperature of the room and the humidity.  All I have to do is change the water daily and that’s it.  Easy peasy.

Alfalfa sprouts are ready

These alfalfa sprouts were the first thing I sprouted.  They took 5 days from start to finish and were perfect.  It’s exciting to have a garden outside and a mini one on my kitchen counter.

Look at those sprouts, Ralph!

It’s been 3 weeks since I’ve become a sprout farmer and I’m on my third crop at present.  My first batch was the alfalfa you see above.  Next I went with a salad mix that had lentils, alfalfa, radish and broccoli.  Yum!  As I type this, the machine is working on a crop that should take 10 days – sunflower and buckwheat.  Can’t wait to taste those.  Can you say sprouted sunflower bread?

5 Responses to “Sproutin’ off”


  1. August 13, 2011 at 11:54 am

    Hi! I would like to know how much time for how many sprouts. I have tried to read about them and it all seems like a potential farm for molds. A mess with a tablespoon or so for my efforts and I have to wait. I wonder the ease of use and quantity of product by doing for self over simply purchasing organic at the store.

    • August 13, 2011 at 3:44 pm

      Hi Elsa!

      It’s been many, many years since I’ve tried growing sprouts in a jar. You are correct in thinking that you may do more harm to yourself (thus the mold comment) by growing them in that manner. And there is the waiting time involved. The reason for growing the sprouts using the automatic sprouter, for me, is for the fun of it. And for the education. But mostly for the fun and to say “I grew those sprouts myself.” Can’t get any fresher or organic than that.

      Now, if you are craving sprouts, by all means, go buy the best organic ones you can find at the store and enjoy them. Why wait for a week when you you want the sprouts now? But, if you happen to live in an area where sprouts are not available in stores, then growing them yourself is your only option.

      As to your question “how much time for how many sprouts?” I sprouted about 5 tablespoons of alfalfa seeds which yielded the amount pictured in the post, approximately 2 quarts. It took 5 days in the automatic sprouter.

      You do have to be vigilant about changing the water every day in the spouter. In between batches I run some bleach ( 1/2 tablespoon) water through the machine for an hour or so, to make sure it is well sanitized before I start another round of sprouts. I hope I answered your questions. If you have more, please contact me again.

      Thanks for reading my blog!

      VG

      • 3 Angel Kelly
        August 20, 2011 at 4:20 pm

        I would love to see your new gizmo & taste the results!

  2. August 15, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    I had no idea there was such a thing! What a great idea! I love alfalfa sprouts! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Foodbuzz

Foodbuzz
Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 102 other followers


