06
Jul
10

Boy, did we have fun!


I decided to try my hand at making a little movie presentation of our Fourth of July gathering.  We had some of our very special friends over to help celebrate the holiday with us.  As always, there was more than enough food.

We played darts, cowboy golf, badminton and of course, pool!  I spent a lot of time in what Katie calls my “natural habitat,” the kitchen, cranking out the goodies.  I even made a new barbeque sauce using rhubarb!  Thank goodness I had my grasshopper, Emily, there to help me.

We had hummus, pita bread, guacamole, bagel chips, grilled corn on the cob, grilled veggie skewers bathed with that rhubarb sauce,  kale and carrot salad, wheatberry salad and quinoa salad.  There were no lack of sweets.  I made peanut butter cookies, oatmeal triple chip cookies and lemon coconut pixies.  Emily baked a raspberry buttermilk cake which was the perfect foil for my homemade strawberry frozen yogurt.  Robert brought a perfect watermelon, beautiful fresh raspberries, red and gold, and blueberries.

I only wish I had taken more pictures.  Especially of us all shooting firecrackers and bottle rockets off!

Enjoy the film presentation.  (Ignore the date on the title page – this really was filmed on the 4th of July)

7 Responses to “Boy, did we have fun!”


  1. July 6, 2010 at 3:51 am

    You sure can throw a party, darling! Thank you for allowing me to provide the resources and prosperity to give you the party house that you’ve always dreamed of having. I love watching you go! More than anything else, I love to watch your unfulfilled dreams of a lifetime become your reality one by one by one.

    Let the party season begin!

    I love you!
    Katie

  2. July 6, 2010 at 3:57 am

    Thank you for being my perfect co-hostess. I am so grateful for our beautiful party house and party yard. I am looking forward to many happy get-togethers for years to come. I love you!

  3. July 8, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    YUM!! I loved that raspberry buttermilk cake recipe myself! Mine had a lil accident when coming out of the pan, thus I simply had to eat the evidence. I think I’ll use some parchment for this one next time. Your dinner and festivities look wonderful.

  4. July 8, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    Waste not, want not! Always eat the evidence. Thanks for checking in and leaving a comment. have a delicious day, Elisa!

    VG

  5. 5 Megan "JoyGirl!" Bord
    July 9, 2010 at 3:43 am

    What an awesome gathering — thanks for sharing with us! Everything and one looked fabulous!

  6. July 9, 2010 at 4:34 am

    See what you have to look forward to, Megan, when you come stay with us in the fall!

  7. July 12, 2010 at 8:10 pm

    These are the gatherings we look forward to the most.
    What a fabulous day for all of you.

    Thanks for sharing that part of your life.

    Flavourful wishes,
    Claudia


Leave a Reply

Foodbuzz

Foodbuzz
Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 102 other followers


