20
Jun
10

Deli? We don’t need no stinkin’ deli!


And neither do you.  Here is an easy, quick deli style salad that you can whip up in the privacy of your own kitchen.  It features quinoa, one of my personal favorite grains.  If you are not yet familiar with quinoa (pronounced KEEN-WAH) I strongly suggest that you two should get acquainted.  It cooks up like rice, is packed with protein and it looks pretty cute!

Colorful, tasty Quinoa Salad

1 cup uncooked quinoa

1 can black beans, drained and rinsed

1 bunch green onion, cleaned and thinly sliced

1/2 red bell pepper, diced

1/2 orange bell pepper, diced

1 celery stalk, diced

1 jalapeno, diced (I prefer to use the whole pepper including the membrane and seeds, but if you are a light weight, you can ditch them)

2 tablespoons rough chopped cilantro

Bring 1 1/2 cups salted water to a boil.  Add quinoa, stir and lower heat to simmer.  Place lid on pot and simmer for 19 minutes.  Remove from heat, stir to fluff.  Spread cooked quinoa on a baking sheet and allow to cool.

Once quinoa has cooled, place in a large bowl and toss with remaining ingredients.  Make dressing:

1/4 cup lime juice

1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil

1 – 2 teaspoons ground cumin

1/4 teaspoon of cayenne, if you want more kick to it

Whisk all together in a small bowl.  Pour over salad and toss to coat well.  Salt and pepper to taste.

Ready for it's close up, just to make you hungry

I think this is best after the ingredients have had a chance to mingle and marry.  Refrigerate for at least an hour before serving.  This will last for about 3 days in the refrigerator, but it never lasts that long at our house!

7 Responses to “Deli? We don’t need no stinkin’ deli!”


  1. June 20, 2010 at 2:17 am

    Mmmmm…. quinoa is one of my favorite grains thanks to you, darling. (Is quinoa a grain or is it a seed? I’m going to guess that it’s actually a seed.)

    For those who are considering becoming vegetarian (or already are vegetarian) and you’re wondering what you’re going to eat for protein, you might consider taking a look at the various ways to prepare quinoa because it is an awesome source! Just follow VampireGran’s lead… let her show you how it’s done.

  2. June 20, 2010 at 2:39 am

    According to “the Food Lovers Companion” quinoa was a staple of the ancient Incas, who called it ” the mother grain.” To this day it’s an important food in South American cuisine, being hailed as the “supergrain of the future.” I’d say it is a grain.

    It is considered a complete protein because it contains all eight essential amino acids. It is higher in unsaturated fats and lower in carbohydrates than most grains.

    All I know is it is so easy to cook, takes on flavors easily, is good hot or cold. It is a great source of protein for us veg heads.

    • June 20, 2010 at 2:57 pm

      Yummy! Remember to rinse it first to avoid a bitter flavor! If one forgets, one might decide quinoa is gross.

      • June 20, 2010 at 3:41 pm

        I have never rinsed the quinoa before cooking. I’ve read that instruction, but never found it needed it. I think it depends on the quinoa. We never rinse it at work either and everyone loves it. I’ve purchased it in boxes at Trader Joe’s and in the bulk bin at WinCo and both are ready to cook without rinsing. BTW, I never rinse rice, either. At any rate, everyone, try both methods and then determine which you prefer. Thanks for your comment, Elisa!

  3. June 26, 2010 at 12:41 pm

    I do love the amazing protein I get out of the very flavourful quinoa…
    especially the red grain variety.
    Very appetizing recipe.

    Thanks for sharing it with us.
    Ciao for now,
    Claudia

  4. July 15, 2010 at 10:12 pm

    Hey Vampire Gran, I love the name of your blog. I don’t know why it’s called that, but I like it!
    Your beets look amazing by the way. I love flash boiling beet greens, and then tossing them in red wine vinegar, olive oil and salt/pepper and chilling them for a bit-so good!
    By the way, if you don’t mind me asking, in what gardening zone are you? I tried to plant beets in an organic garden I started for my Mom in Georgia. Everything grew well except for the beets-nothing!

    • July 16, 2010 at 9:15 pm

      Hello Stella,

      I am in Portland, Oregon. The Pacific Northwest. Those beets were fantastic! So full of flavor! I agree, beet greens are the best. I am still a novice when it comes to gardening, so I’m not sure why the beets did not grow in Georgia. Maybe too hot? Try again!


Leave a Reply

Foodbuzz

Foodbuzz
Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 102 other followers


