30
May
10

Let the wedding season begin!


Simple, elegant baby's breath and white roses = wedding flowers

It’s that time of year when announcements and invitations arrive in your mail box.  Graduations and weddings.  The graduations usually require a card of congratulations and a check in response.  The weddings are more fun.  Oh, sure, you still go out and buy a pretty card and a gift or write a check, but, if you are lucky, you go to a party.  And at that party, you get to eat cake!

I received a call a few months back, requesting an order for a simple wedding cake.  I confess, wedding cake makes me nervous.  It’s such a special occasion and, in my mind, everything must be perfect, lest the bride have a melt down.  In reality, I’m usually the one who has the melt down.  I can be really hard on myself.  

I agreed to make this cake because the bride is familiar with my work and loves my cake.  She did not want a traditional cake with all of the gum paste flowers and fondant, thank God!  I don’t do those. 

So, I kept it simple, yet elegant. 

My version of simple and elegant

This cake has a layer of vanilla bean mascarpone cheesecake sandwiched between layers of chocolate buttermilk cake, two layers each, top and bottom.  Yeah, we’re talkin’ 5 layers total of pure decadence.  Oh, and the frosting is mocha rum buttercream.

A little close up detail work

I was going for a little pearl looking action on the detail work, but they look more like sweet white Kisses.  Quite appropriate for a wedding cake, yes?

I really liked this shot

I even did the floral arrangement myself.   It turned out pretty nice. 

I received a text message from one of the guests later that evening.  She told me the cake was a huge success.  Everyone really loved it, especially that cheesecake center.  I believe the word “decadent” was in there.

So, in closing this post out, I have one final confession.  This is the fourth wedding cake I have made in my entire life.  And I’m ready for the next one.

10 Responses to “Let the wedding season begin!”


  1. May 30, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    Did someone say wedding season?!?! Mmmmm…. Will you marry me, my Love?

    Katie

  2. May 30, 2010 at 8:04 pm

    Over and over, I will marry you! Thanks for your help in delivering that cake.
    Your wife,
    Vampire Gran

  3. May 31, 2010 at 4:03 pm

    your detailed work is amazing!! 🙂 that is what I call – pure talent

  4. May 31, 2010 at 7:06 pm

    Thank you so much! It is done with the purest of love so I am happy that it shows. Thanks for checking in today.

    VG

  5. May 31, 2010 at 9:46 pm

    I bet the cake was a huge success. Even if the cake didn’t look this amazingly exquisite…it would still be the talk of the sweet table. Just on the ingredients alone…you had me wanting to skip supper!
    Just wondering Patricia…will we ever get so lucky as for you to share this decadent recipe with us one day?
    Flavourful wishes, Claudia

  6. May 31, 2010 at 10:04 pm

    Hello, Claudia!
    The recipe for the chocolate cake and the cheesecake are both on my blog site. I believe the cake is under Vampire Gran’s Perfect Chocolate Cake and the cheesecake recipe is my lemon mascarpone cheesecake minus the lemon and substituting vanilla bean paste. The frosting is the one I used in the Elephant Cupcake post and I substituted strong coffee for the water and added 4 ounces good quality semi sweet chocolate, melted and cooled. Oh, and I substituted rum for the vanilla. And it was very much a favorite part of the evening.

    Yours truly,
    VG

  7. June 1, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    MMMMMMMMMMM yum! I think this cake’s simplistic decorating makes it look delicious. Like the combination of chocolate with the white flowers too. I think this cake is worth having for any occasion including a nothing special occasion.

    Great pictures!

    Cate

    • June 1, 2010 at 7:11 pm

      Thank you, Cate! I have always felt that simple is more elegant and delicious than a ton of gum paste flowers and tons of overly sweet frosting. Hopefully future clients will agree.

      Thanks for the compliment on the photos, as wel. I do love my photo sessions!

      VG

  8. June 14, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    Hello Patricia…by chance I came back to see what you were up to.
    I have not seen you on my culinary journal yet. Hope everything is well with you.

    Thank you very much for directing me towards you cake recipe ;o)

    Flavourful wishes, Claudia

  9. July 15, 2010 at 5:06 am

    I can see you like to bake cakes. Here is a link with more inspiration for you http://www.jungbo.se/tartsidan.php
    Good luck!


Leave a Reply

Foodbuzz

Foodbuzz
Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 102 other followers


