20
May
10

Daylight in the Garden of Good and Tasty


I am so glad I planted early this year!

A couple of months ago, March 30th,  to be exact, I wrote a post about planting our garden.  I likened myself to Martha Stewart, sort of, well, in the fact that we both have gardens on our estates.  I sure wish I had a couple of henchmen though, like Martha, who could help with all of the details of said garden.  Oh, I guess they are called gardeners, not henchmen.  Drat!  I really want a henchman.

Anyway, this short post is an update complete with a few photos of how the garden is progressing.  The top shot is of a Golden Beet plant.  We’re pretty stoked about growing our own beets.  I think I’d like to show some before and current views of the raised beds.  Here goes:

Day one - Lettuce

When I first planted the lettuce, some kinda bug thought it was Hometown Buffet or something.  Small bug teeth sized holes started to appear in the leaves almost immediately.  Katie was concerned as was our friend Emily.  I’m the kind of gardener who plants things and just expects them to grow.  I believed that if I was meant to grow lettuce, it would grow.  My inner being never lets me down.  Here is what the lettuce looked like this morning and, mind you, I added nothing to the soil nor did I put anything on the leaves.  100% natural and organic, baby.

Can you believe it?

Here’s a nice close up shot:

Pretty!

So, let’s take a look at the beets progress.  We are really looking forward to not only eating the beet roots, but also the tasty greens.  This is the ultimate no waste vegetable.

Day one - Beets

The plant front and center in this shot is the same Golden Beet whose picture graced the beginning of this report.  Not bad, eh?  Here’s a shot of the whole group.

Growing like, dare I say it, weeds?

The plants in the background are broccoli.  You may be noticing the yellowing outer leaves here.  I’m leaving  those leaves on, even though the pictures would look better if I manicured the plants a bit.  But I’m thinkin’ maybe if the moocher bugs return, they can gnaw on the crappy leaves a bit, get pissed off and move on.  Ours is not the only garden on the block, ya’ know?

Some new additions

If you recall, the chives, on the right, were the only thing that survived the winter.  Since March, I’ve planted parsley and some Orange Thyme, back in the corner.  I still need to buy some basil and I would also like cilantro.

Yeah, I know I need to weed, but it's been raining cats and dogs here in Portland!

These are shelling peas and in the background you can see leeks.  In the past I have only ever grown tomatoes, peppers, cucumbers and a few herbs.  This is really fun growing our food.  Speaking of tomatoes, I need to get some planted soon.  I mentioned in my other gardening post that our next door neighbor is a Master Gardener.  She generously shared three tomato plants and a green bell pepper with us.  She has the coolest little greenhouse and always something growing in there.  No, I haven’t noticed any bright lights coming from there at odd hours.   Man, you guys!

Thanks to Miss Snowy, we will have tomatoes

Okay, well that’s my update for now.  Oh, there’s a break in the rain.  I’m outta here.  I have some weeds to pull!

6 Responses to “Daylight in the Garden of Good and Tasty”


  1. May 20, 2010 at 10:34 pm

    Raining cats and dogs? I was wondering where all those critters came from.

    Hey! Where’s all the habaneros and jalapenos? Hmmmm…. I wonder if it’s hard to grow purple garlic… I love purple garlic!

    Lovely pictures, sweetness… if you don’t make it as a Martha Stewart mini-me, you might have a bright future in botany portraits.

    Love ya!
    Katie

    • May 20, 2010 at 10:55 pm

      The peppers are coming, my little minion. Thank God I at least have a minion! Now, where are we gonna find that henchman?

      Thank you for the use of your/our fabuloso camera! It takes great photos of plants and food.

      Love ya’ right back

      VG

  2. May 20, 2010 at 11:12 pm

    This is a super garden!

    • May 20, 2010 at 11:30 pm

      Thank you! It’s still in the beginning stages, but we are already eating the lettuce with our dinner and it’s not even June yet! Thanks for stopping by to visit my blog!
      VG

  3. May 23, 2010 at 4:19 pm

    Oh wow your garden’s coming up really nicely! I’m so envious of all the fresh salads you’ll be having really soon 🙂

    • May 23, 2010 at 7:18 pm

      Thanks for stopping by. Yes, the garden brings me so much pleasure and the salads are wonderful. At least the lettuce has been featured in some salad already thisweek, in between rain storms!
      VG


Leave a Reply

Foodbuzz

Foodbuzz
Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 102 other followers


