11
May
10

Vegetarian Reuben? Yes, please!


A first shot, just to tempt you

I admit it.  I am a food tease.  It gives me great delight to tease and tempt all of you out there in blogville with stories and pictures of the food I create.  No one wishes more than I that there were scratch and sniff computer screens and virtual taste samples.  Then I could really get you going.

Last week I had some super strong cravings for a reuben sandwich.  Vita Cafe, here in Portland, Oregon,  makes a pretty good vegetarian reuben, but I think I whipped up one that could give Vita’s a run for its money.  Don’t get me wrong, I would gladly drive across town and throw  $7.50 down for one of their sandwiches, but I really prefer to cook and eat  here in the comfort of our fabulous home.

Would you like a step by step guide to a yum-tastic vegetarian reuben?  Well, you’ve come to the right blog.  First things first, the list:

Rye Bread – the best you can find

Sauerkraut – also, the best you can get your hands on

Swiss Cheese – I know you know what I’m gonna say here

Vegetarian meat substitute – I used Field Roast Wild Mushroom Slices

The dressing – I’ll tell you my recipe

Reuben Dressing

(enough for four sandwiches)

1/3 cup Vegenaise or mayo

2 tbsp ketchup

3 tsp prepared horseradish

1 tsp vegan Worcestershire sauce

salt and pepper, to taste

Step 1 - Butter bread slices

I place a sheet of waxed paper on my work surface or cutting board.  Butter the bread slices on one side and place the buttered side down on the waxed paper.  Place slices on swiss cheese on each slice of bread.  I’m making two sandwiches here, as you can see, each sandwich has cheese on the top and bottom.

Step 2 - "meat" slices

Next, place your veggie “meat ” slices on top of the cheese on one piece of the bread.  I like to fold the slices over, deli style.

Step 3 - mound the sauerkraut

Here’s a fun part.  Place the sauerkraut on a double thickness of paper towel and squeeze a lot of the moisture out over the sink.  This will keep your sandwich from getting soggy.  Then mound the sauerkraut on top of the “meat” slices.

Here's another shot just because I like it

See that jar of sauerkraut?  I love that brand, Bubbies.  I use Bubbies horseradish, too.  I don’t know who she is or was, but her products rock.

Step 4 - The sauce

Spoon or ladle the sauce over the sauerkraut.  Be generous with it, but don’t go overboard or your sandwich may be difficult to flip over.  Place the other cheese topped bread slice on top of the sauce and you’re ready to grill it.

Grill it

Grill in a non stick pan or cast iron skillet, for best results.  Keep the heat pretty low, you want the bread to slowly brown and the cheese to get melty.

The perfect amount of sauce

See that little bit of sauce?  Perfect!  You don’t want it running all over the pan.  It will burn before your sandwich gets a chance to brown.

Golden brown, just the way I like it

See the nice melty cheese?  No sign of sauce running amok.  I did turn these over again and got the top parts a bit more grilled before serving ’em up.

Take a closer look

These look perfect.  I am so hungry right now.  I am actually making these again tonight because all day yesterday, Juice Fast Sunday, I was editing the photos and, well, it was a hard fast day, let me tell you.

Seriously good

OK, I can’t stand it.  Now I’m teasing myself!  I have to go make dinner, right now.  Bon Appetit!

One last parting shot

16 Responses to “Vegetarian Reuben? Yes, please!”


  1. May 11, 2010 at 12:34 am

    It’s a good thing you’re making these sandwiches again tonight, darling, because you just made me seriously hungry for a reuben too.

    It’s a good thing you don’t tease ME with your delicious creations, otherwise you might wake up some night to find me gnawing on your arm… the fleshy part… mmmmm.

    Oooo, I can smell reubens grilling in the kitchen…. gotta go!

  2. May 15, 2010 at 8:59 am

    Long live the Reuben… In any flavor!!!

    • May 15, 2010 at 5:29 pm

      I second that!! Thanks for stopping by!
      VG

  3. May 18, 2010 at 7:41 pm

    you definitely are a tease Vampiregran..oooo that melted cheese on toasty bread is making me drool. I am so badly craving for a sandwich now, but it’s the midddle on the night in Singapore.

    • May 18, 2010 at 8:35 pm

      This is why you should always have bread and cheese in your kitchen at all times. Ha Ha!
      VG

      • May 18, 2010 at 8:53 pm

        Hey BookJunkie, this is why you should marry a beautiful chef… like I did.

        Katie

      • May 19, 2010 at 8:27 am

        Katie you’re so lucky!! Vampire I just blogrolled you so that more people in Singapore can be tempted and go off their diets 🙂

      • May 19, 2010 at 8:28 am

        Katie you’re so lucky!! Vampire Gran I just blogrolled you so that more people in Singapore can be tempted and go off their diets 🙂

  4. May 19, 2010 at 1:20 pm

    Good morning, Bookjunkie!
    Thanks for adding Vampire Gran to your blogroll. I hope a lot of folks in Singapore take a peek into my kitchen and are tempted by what they find there. Katie said I need a tee shirt that says “I’m HUGE in Singapore!” Have a delicious day!
    VG

    • May 19, 2010 at 1:57 pm

      Hi VG…..that T shirt idea is cool! 🙂 It’s kinda cool that it’s morning where you are and close to bedtime where I am

  5. May 19, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    Hey, just read the post via bookjunkie about your site and I just subscribed. My Main Squeeze is a vegetarian and I’m always looking for new ideas…plus, your pictures make my stomach growl! Y-U-M

    • May 19, 2010 at 6:43 pm

      Thank you so much for the lovely words of praise. And welcome to my beloved subscriber clan. So happy my pictures make you hungry – that is my intention. My recipes are pretty easy and I do post a lot of step by step action, to be clear. Once again, welcome.
      VG


Leave a Reply

Foodbuzz

Foodbuzz
Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 102 other followers


