26
Apr
10

Oh, No, You Didn’t!


Probably falls under the category of a mortal sin

 

Oh yes, I did!  I combined three of my most popular cakes into one.  If there is indeed a hell, I just know there is a big fat red devil with his pitch fork poised, just waiting for me to drop in with this cake.  It’s definitely a cross between heaven and hell.  Heavenly to behold, sweet, moist and rich in the mouth.  Hella hard to resist.  Oh, I’m sure it’s off the charts in fat grams and calories, but who’s counting?  I totally envision the angel and devil routine, each one  perched on my shoulders and whispering in my ear.  Devil -“Go ahead, eat it!  No one is looking!”  Angel – “Oh, my, all those calories!  All that fat!”  Devil – “Don’t listen to her.  You can eat whatever you want.  You deserve it.”  Angel – “It does look delicious.  Maybe just one eensy, teensy bite.”  Devil – “Screw that!  Eat it all.  Now!”  At this point I shake the Angel off my shoulder, give the Devil a conspiratory wink and devour that one way ticket to diet damnation with no remorse.   

If you can’t tell by the picture, the bottom layer is Chocolate Buttermilk Cake, the center layer is, are you ready?, Vanilla Mascarpone Cheesecake (!)and the top layer is Red Velvet Cake.  If that isn’t sinful enough, I frosted it all with Coconut Cream Cheese Frosting.  Yeah, it’s even better than it sounds.   

Wanna see how it’s assembled?  OK, since you asked, here goes:   

I baked a 9 inch Chocolate Buttermilk Cake, a 9 inch crustless Vanilla Mascarpone Cheesecake and a 9″ Red Velvet Cake.  The cheese cake was baked the day before the other two cakes were made so it could get good and set up in the refrigerator.   

Bottom Layer - Chocolate Buttermilk Cake

 

Here is the bottom chocolate layer with a thin layer of the frosting.  Yeah, I do call that thin. 

The center cheesecake layer

 

I unmolded the crustless cheesecake directly on top of the frosted chocolate layer.  The parchment paper is still attached in this photo, that’s why the bottom (or top, here) of the cheesecake looks wrinkly.  Don’t forget to remove the parchment before frosting the cheesecake layer.  The only reason I mention this is I actually started frosting this after I snapped the photo and then stopped myself.  Fortunetly it’s really easy to remove frosting from cheesecake when it has parchment on it!  Yes, sometimes I am a dork.  

Frosted cheesecake layer

 

Ok, so then I spread a layer of frosting on top of the cheesecake layer, after first removing the parchment paper!  This was the first time I had ever frosted a cheesecake and it glided on there smooth as proverbial silk.  

Last but not least, the top layer, Red Velvet

 

I placed the Red Velvet layer on top and then frosted the whole, beautiful creation.  By the way, I leveled both of the cake layers with a serrated knife before frosting, duh.  

Here's the finished product

 

I made the executive decision not to do my usual piping top and bottom borders.  The true attraction of this cake is on the inside.   

Is the devil whispering in your ear yet?

 

I wish the Red Velvet cake crumbs didn’t get drug across the cheesecake layer.  I used a sharp hot knife and cleaned it between cuts, but I still got crumb dregs.  Well, this was just an inspiration I came up with and thought I drive it around the block a few times until I come up the perfect rendition of this cake.  Not bad for a proto type, though, eh? 

So, what do you reckon, am I going to hell, or what? 

ps:   We did not eat this whole cake ourselves.  Katie and I shared the piece that appears in the picture next to the whole cake.  I sent almost half of the cake to work with Katie and I took almost the other half to my job.  The photo at the beginning of this post was kept at our house, for us to enjoy and share with a couple of lucky people who came by that weekend.

98 Responses to “Oh, No, You Didn’t!”


  1. 1 becky
    April 26, 2010 at 2:07 pm

    I’m actually salivating at my desk. That looks incredible!

    • May 5, 2010 at 2:17 am

      I find a bib helps. Glad you enjoyed my post.

      VG

  2. April 26, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    OMG! That is so friggin’ awesome! I would have never thought to combine the layers like that. You have inspired me to bake a cake like that for this weekend’s dinner party. Thank you!!!

    2gabbygals.com

    • May 5, 2010 at 2:18 am

      Did you bake the cake? If so, how did it work out for you? Thanks for visiting my blog site and leaving a nice comment.

      VG

  3. April 26, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    This is not good. You just made me hungry. Now who’s gonna make them for me? 😦

    • May 5, 2010 at 2:20 am

      You can do it! But I do like making people hungry. I’m funny that way. – VG

  4. 7 Raul Alanis
    April 26, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    I think I just gained 20 pounds reading this!! My gosh that looks good…Yummmy!!

    http://www.restaurantreviewers.wordpress.com

    http://www.wutevs.wordpress.com

  5. April 26, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    oh wow! this looks amazing! I’m not nearly as talented in the kitchen.

    http://www.tracyzhangphoto.wordpress.com/

  6. April 26, 2010 at 2:27 pm

    I came on word press to start a fitness and health blog and stumbled on to this and WOW it looks AMAZING!!!! lol

  7. April 26, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    Oh my…
    You may be going to hell, but at least you’ll be happy!!
    That cake looks buff! *drool*
    And very epic :]

  8. April 26, 2010 at 2:56 pm

    The colors of the cake are so pretty! I love the idea of layering three different cakes together too. My husband loves cheesecake, but because I’m not a big fan of cheesecake and because we almost always share desserts when we go out, he never gets to have it. This cake would keep both of us very happy. Thanks so much for the idea!

  9. April 26, 2010 at 3:00 pm

    I’m all over this one

  10. April 26, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    that looks ridiculously delicious! i’d attempt something like that myself, but my cakes never fail to end up lopsided. simply amazing!!

  11. April 26, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    ooo this looks so yummy — I am thinking of using this as one of the cakes for my at home wedding reception – or at least on of my other small events. Thanks for the idea.

    -angie

  12. April 26, 2010 at 3:10 pm

    Oh my Lord, that looks delicious!

  13. April 26, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    This looks sooooo good. I’ll be craving dessert for the rest of the day.

  14. 17 G@B3
    April 26, 2010 at 3:29 pm

    Ok, so how can i describe my feelings on contemplating such delicious, mouth-watering
    smooth piece of culinary perfection? Not only the looks are pretty much perfect but i’m guessing it also tasted pretty damn…what? Heavenly? The combination of colors is just something extra to please one’s eyes. magnificent. 😄

  15. April 26, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    It’s cruel to do this to a reader well before lunchtime! What a gorgeous cake. Can I ask how you get your red velvet that color? It’s gorgeous, but I’m terrified of too much red dye.

  16. April 26, 2010 at 3:48 pm

    Holy Amazing Cake!
    I took one look at the original picture and said yum but it looked complex…I was so excited it doesn’t sound hard at all! I think this will be terribly popular at my next get together or as a mini cake at my friends wedding. Thank you!!!

  17. 20 niki428
    April 26, 2010 at 3:58 pm

    I love that you did this! What a great idea!

  18. 21 Kay T
    April 26, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    I was dragged in here by the devil after we saw that picture of the cake on the WordPress site. It looks amazing. I am going to send it to my personal baker. Are the recipes for the cakes on the blog somewhere?

  19. 22 Nikki
    April 26, 2010 at 4:57 pm

    I don’t think I have ever wanted to eat a cake so bad in my life…
    This looks like one of the tastiest cakes, oh my…
    I LOVE the idea of putting a cheesecake layer in between two layers of sponge! I can almost taste it…
    Hahahaha, I made red velvet cupcakes last night, and just ate one a minute ago… And now looking at this, it has put my cupcake to shame!
    This is beautiful… Now iPhone needs to come up with an app that allows users to taste blogposts on WordPress…

  20. April 26, 2010 at 5:00 pm

    yum.. great idea o.O

  21. April 26, 2010 at 5:08 pm

    Great blog. We will display your blog on our site soon.

  22. April 26, 2010 at 5:18 pm

    *dies from just looking at it*
    Gyaaah, this looks sooo goood, damn, you’re one hella cook. Lovely and cheese cake too, fantabulous man. Too cool and yummyy

    *wants*

  23. April 26, 2010 at 5:20 pm

    O to the MG. this looks A-mazing….

  24. April 26, 2010 at 6:00 pm

    Wow! The cake looks amazing. I’d like a piece please!

  25. 28 Andrea
    April 26, 2010 at 6:02 pm

    Wow that is sin in a cake pan. Great cake. Looks mighty tasty.

  26. 29 Suzanne
    April 26, 2010 at 6:03 pm

    Patty, I love, love, love your idea of combining all three cakes!
    It looks beautiful. Have you tried using tooth floss to cut the cake? I know it works great for slicing cheesecake, but I haven’s tried it on the other.

  27. April 26, 2010 at 7:00 pm

    Wow! What a cake! Sometimes we just have to go ahead and indulge. This would be one of those cakes.

  28. April 26, 2010 at 7:03 pm

    Oh yeah! My co-workers are still talking about this cake. One woman in the office told me that she couldn’t have any of it because she was on a no sugar diet… later in the day she came by my office to tell me that she couldn’t resist and ended up breaking her diet… and she exclaimed that it was so worth it. (Which reminds me, darling, she said to tell you that she’s in love with you!)

    One or 2 of the nuns I work for have at times told me that my wife’s creations are “evil”. I suppose it’s a good thing they just happened to be out of the office on the day I brought this beauty of a sweet treat to work.

    Don’t be fooled though… every single one one of my beloved wife’s creations are her best creation ever. She just can’t help topping herself again and again. I can hardly wait to see where her next culinary adventure takes us. I’m the luckiest woman on earth!

  29. April 26, 2010 at 7:07 pm

    This cake is PURE INSANITY! I saw the pic on the Worpress home page and it could not be denied. WOW is all I can say and yum, I want a bite. Nicely done!!!1

  30. April 26, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    You could probably just give some to the devil; one massive coronary should fix him. Run while he’s gasping! 😀

    This is on my list of reasons to exercise.

  31. 34 badmammy
    April 26, 2010 at 7:29 pm

    I want that cake!!

  32. April 26, 2010 at 7:43 pm

    That looks awesomely, unbelievably,beautifully,deliciously Yummy!!

    I have a Mississippi Mud Pie recipe that will most definitely give this gastronomical bombshell

    a run for its money…But they will run neck and neck in flavor I’m sure…

  33. 36 Ryoko
    April 26, 2010 at 7:53 pm

    Sorry, I’m a total chocoholic! It’s gotta be totally chocolate!

    I’ll eat the bottom layer and leave the rest for you to enjoy! The frosting looks heavenly though! Nice job!

  34. April 26, 2010 at 8:08 pm

    Omg, I’d luv to hav a piece of that triple cake.
    Its so delicious I can even taste it, I’m going to get a cake this instant.

    Food is a pleasure,
    Remain.Simple

  35. April 26, 2010 at 8:32 pm

    Well I too am salivating at my desk like Pavlovs Dogs! It’s a good thing I don’t bake. Maybe you could sell that recipe to the Cheesecake Factory. I can never have that cake,well maybe just a small slice.

  36. April 26, 2010 at 8:45 pm

    OH MY. I saw this on the Dashboard and….this looks absolutely delicious. Recipe please!! Mmmmm,mmmmm!

  37. April 26, 2010 at 9:03 pm

    Slurp!!! Vely Intelesting! (Trying to sound like a vampire). Off to explore more of your blog!
    Gloris

  38. April 26, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    Oh my goodness! That would be a sin to rinse out the bowls while making it!!

  39. 42 Andres Segovia
    April 26, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    Maybe it is an angel whispering “eat it” and the devil reminds you of all the calories.

    The cake definitely looks something from heaven!

    Your only sinful act is: not sharing a piece.

  40. April 26, 2010 at 9:42 pm

    Oh, Gram, you must make one for me. Yum Yum.

  41. April 26, 2010 at 10:45 pm

    didn’t know a mortal sin could taste so good. snapshots. nothing but snapshots. http://scripturesnapshots.wordpress.com

  42. April 26, 2010 at 10:52 pm

    salut ca va bien est-ce-que sava

  43. 46 saleblan
    April 26, 2010 at 10:59 pm

    Gorgeous cake! It totally deserves the right to be in a magazine, in my opinion. 😀

  44. April 26, 2010 at 11:36 pm

    yum yum…. 🙂

  45. 48 SV
    April 27, 2010 at 12:49 am

    Oooo! yum 🙂

  46. April 27, 2010 at 1:41 am

    waaawww.. its yumy..

    give me a piece please..??

    i want thats cake 🙂

    and how to make its?

  47. April 27, 2010 at 2:04 am

    OMG! Thank you for posting this. This has got to be the most decadent cake recipe I’ve seen this year! Any way you can UPS a slice of that to NY?

  48. 51 thisrainykitten
    April 27, 2010 at 2:30 am

    Wow! I’d have no problems eating that baby! Looks and sounds awesome!! Did you have coffee with it? Do you suggest coffee and a nice beverage to go with it?

  49. 52 kels!
    April 27, 2010 at 2:44 am

    that is amazing!!! i’m going to have to try that recipe one day for someones birthday!!! i want one now it looks so good. haha :]

  50. 53 Jen Santos
    April 27, 2010 at 2:55 am

    That’s amazing! I’m inspired!

  51. April 27, 2010 at 3:11 am

    Oh my gosh! That looks amazing! I’m going to try to make something like that for a potluck that I’m going to this weekend, it looks waaaaaay better than the key lime cupcakes with white chocolate frosting that I was going to make! I’m now inspired to make cakes like this- a layer of cake, a layer of cheesecake, and another layer of cake-it’s genius!!

  52. April 27, 2010 at 3:43 am

    I bow to your baking skills…that is the best thing I’ve (oops sorry…drooling here) seen in some time…

  53. 56 MJ
    April 27, 2010 at 4:34 am

    OMG! I’m SOOO VERY hungry looking at the pic n description..

  54. April 27, 2010 at 5:22 am

    Beautiful! A vanilla marscapone cheesecake! Trying to think if I can make this before midnight…I might just have to continue drooling on my keyboard…thanks for the virtual snack!

  55. April 27, 2010 at 5:38 am

    I’m drooling hahahaaaaa…

  56. April 27, 2010 at 6:04 am

    That looks sooo good, but my inner voice is going ‘don’t you even think of eating anything like that young lady!’

  57. April 27, 2010 at 6:07 am

    I love to eat. This post made me hungry. Cheese cake layer wow.

  58. April 27, 2010 at 6:33 am

    What is sinful is that you don’t live nearby!

    I am salivating all over those three separate cakes. And the deadly combination caused drool so bad, I’ll probably be craving inadequate substitutes!! 😦 It’s a wonder those 3 separate pieces survived to become different components of your masterpiece!

    So good of you to share all those calories with others. Any chance of shipping it to Bangalore?

  59. April 27, 2010 at 6:45 am

    omg! tats amazing

  60. 63 Kris
    April 27, 2010 at 7:01 am

    I.Am. Salivating.
    Have I died and gone to cake heaven? Wait… whose that with the pitchfork? Who knew cake-hell would be this delicious!! Seriously tempting!!!

  61. April 27, 2010 at 7:27 am

    This was just too good. I want the recipies of each of the three cakes.

  62. 65 hippysheep
    April 27, 2010 at 7:46 am

    Yum!I think I just glimpsed heaven’s feast!

  63. April 27, 2010 at 8:13 am

    Look Delicious 🙂

  64. April 27, 2010 at 9:27 am

    Mmm, I like the cake!!! it;s looking fantastic!!!

    Would you like to send my mail to me???

  65. 68 alicia
    April 27, 2010 at 9:41 am

    this is amazing idea only thing is im ceoliac so that is a bit of a pain!!!!

  66. 69 LUCY
    April 27, 2010 at 9:42 am

    WOW this looks delicious, I think it would be better without the coconut

  67. April 27, 2010 at 11:06 am

    OOOOHHH !!! – my tummy’s rumbling !! 🙂

    Wedding Photographer South Wales

  68. 71 shshp2
    April 27, 2010 at 11:35 am

    Oh, I’m sure it’s off the charts in fat grams and calories, but who’s counting? > Well I’m, and I hav to say its far far off!

  69. 72 Megan "JoyGirl!" Bord
    April 27, 2010 at 11:54 am

    Patty, you’ve outdone yourself AGAIN! I’m in awe… You continue to blow me away with your creativity. And if being good means never eating anything like what you baked and featured here, then baby, I wanna be BAD!

  70. April 27, 2010 at 12:07 pm

    You are crazy. This looks amazing!

  71. April 27, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    Looks so yummy! And written quite delightfully! 😉

  72. April 27, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    wow…interesting…

  73. April 27, 2010 at 1:11 pm

    Wow that look amazing.

  74. April 27, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    All I can say is – Whoa. That is one intense cake.

  75. 78 elza
    April 27, 2010 at 1:38 pm

    🙂

  76. 79 Robert
    April 27, 2010 at 11:07 pm

    As someone who got to eat a big chunk of the half of the cake that went with Katie to work, it tastes even better than it looks and sounds. Thank you, Patty. Everything you bake is wonderful.
    Robert

  77. 80 badmammy
    April 28, 2010 at 2:43 am

    oh, thanks,Robert, rub it in!!

  78. 81 Shanti
    May 3, 2010 at 9:55 am

    I seriously need a piece…..it looks sooo good!!

    • May 3, 2010 at 12:50 pm

      Hi Shanti!

      It tastes even better than it looks! I know, rub it in, right? Thanks for stopping by.

      VG

  79. May 4, 2010 at 6:25 am

    oh em gee! words cannot even express how amazing that looks/sounds. the vanilla mascarpone did it for me!!! OH EM GEE SQUARED!

    • May 4, 2010 at 12:50 pm

      Thanks! You are too cute! Bring me some of those Nutella Chocolate Cookies and I’ll give you some cake!
      VG

  80. 85 amlo87
    May 9, 2010 at 10:00 am

    oh my!….you are a champ! The cake looks absolutely delicious, well done 🙂

    • May 9, 2010 at 4:14 pm

      Thank you very much! I do come up with a winner, now and then.
      VG

  81. May 18, 2010 at 6:49 am

    Wow! My mouth is watering!! That cake looks beyond decadent – I would love to experiment with something like this, but my time in the kitchen is sooooo limited. I’m glad I stumbled upon your blog.

    • May 18, 2010 at 12:44 pm

      Hi Misfit!

      I’m glad you stumbled upon my blog, too. This cake is pretty amazing. I’m making one with chocolate layers and cheesecake with a mocha buttercream frosting for a wedding on Memorial Weekend. There will be some very happy guests at that reception, ya’ think?
      VG

  82. May 18, 2010 at 7:24 pm

    I found your site from the WordPress.com page which has several sites that are strong enough to make the page. Your site is wonderful and beautiful.
    Thanks,,

    • May 18, 2010 at 7:30 pm

      Thanks for visiting my blog! I have a lot of fun putting the posts together. Glad you enjoyed it.

      VG


Leave a Reply

Foodbuzz

Foodbuzz
Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 102 other followers


