21
Apr
10

Melted Butter and Mayo, You’ve Been Replaced


Jumbo artichokes in the produce department at work

My last post I shared a great recipe for Kale and Carrot Salad, right?  Well guess what I discovered?  That dressing for the salad makes an awesome dipping sauce for steamed artichokes.  Seriously, it’s super yum. 

We’re eating so much healthier these days and I try to cook with a wide variety of veggies.  The other day I just had to buy a couple of these jumbo bad boy artichokes.  Most people like to dip the leaves in mayonnaise (gross) or melted butter (good, but, not-so-much for the body).   I used to use some low fat salad dressing, but I’m so over bottled dressing and haven’t bought any for years now.  So what’s a girl to dip her choke in then? 

That’s when it me!  I had some left over spicy sesame dressing from the kale salad we had for dinner the night before.  Brilliant!  Oh, the flavor is so complimentary with the sweetness of the artichoke.  Plus, the dressing has such a bold flavor that you only have to dip a tiny bit to get a good punch. 

So, get to the store, buy some artichokes, and while they are steaming, whisk up the dressing.  Great with a meal or just by itself for a healthy snack.  Dig in!

3 Responses to “Melted Butter and Mayo, You’ve Been Replaced”


  1. April 22, 2010 at 6:34 am

    Speaking of fat-fests… I hope you weren’t attached to that giant tub of cream cheese-coconut frosting that I stumbled across in the fridge after you went to bed tonight… I think I’ve eaten myself into a cream cheese stupor.

    Hey, you forgot to mention that you steamed those mondo artichokes in the pressure cooker. What a great idea! They were done in minutes. And that dressing was perfect with them. You’re so smart.

    Okay, I’m putting down the spoon and backing away from the frosting… I think my butt just got an inch bigger. It was so worth it though… maybe one more spoonful…

    Katie

  2. 2 Mary Markwart Riley
    April 24, 2010 at 6:35 am

    Hey Patty,

    I made the Kale and Carrot salad, and it was really GOOD. I also love artichokes (although ours here don’t look much like the picture you put in this blog!) I will try the dressing with artichokes, it sounds yummy. I got a pressure cooker recently, (6 qt. stainless) and really love it. I’m surprised that pressure cookers haven’t caught on as a fabulous speedy way to cook good food in our busy lives, but they just aren’t publicized, and it’s all still just crock pots that you hear about. I predict that pressure cookers will be the next “new” thing though. Loved the pics of your garden and back yard too! Thanks!

    Mary

    • April 24, 2010 at 7:14 pm

      Hi Mary!

      So glad you tried my recipe and enjoyed it. We love it! I think you may be right about pressure cookers being the next “new” thing. Katie had one when we merged households and I had never used one before. Silly me, I believed all of the horror stories about those things being dangerous and blowing up in people’s faces. Yeah, they really are great time savers. Thanks for looking at my backyard and garden pics. I’m going to post more as the garden progresses. Good to hear from you, Mary. Take care.

      Patty


Leave a Reply

Foodbuzz

Foodbuzz
Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 102 other followers


