07
Mar
10

Wanna lose weight? It’s all about the Pots and Pans


So, here it is, Sunday again.  That means no solid food is consumed in our house.  Yes, we are sticking to juice fast Sundays.  I actually look forward to this one day of the week.  As much as I love to cook, bake and eat, I also love feeling healthy.  Sticking to eating healthier foods and portions, both Katie and I are naturally, without effort, gradually losing weight.  It feels so good to slide back into some clothes we both thought we needed to remove from our respective closets.

One other change that happened in our kitchen was getting rid of old worn out pots and pans and replacing it with a new set of Simply Calphalon cookware.  Talk about a different cooking experience!  This stuff rocks!  My favorite pan is called the Simply Calphalon Everyday Pan and they’re not kidding.  I use this pan everyday for just about every thing!

Simply Calphalon Everyday Pan

The pan pictured above was actually a bonus gift with the purchase of a 10 piece set of Simply Calphalon cookware, but you can purchase it separately.  I use so much less oil with these pans.  It’s amazing!  I make whole dinners some nights using maybe 1 – 2 tablespoons of olive oil for the entire meal, including salad dressing.  No, I don’t make salad or salad dressing in the pans, I just want to make it clear how little oil you need with these babies.

10 piece Simply Calphalon Cookware Set

 

The everyday pan is a non-stick pan, but the rest of the set are not.  They are stainless steel with wonderful heavy bottoms.  I swear if you start using these pans they will be the only thing in your kitchen with a heavy bottom!  They also require very little oil and you get fantastic results.

I discovered something about cookware in the process of purchasing new stuff.  Do you know how bad non-stick spray is for your pans?  I had no idea and had been using it for years!  Apparently they contain a chemical propellant that is difficult to remove from cookware.  I always wondered why my pans no longer looked new and shiny after a short time of use.  The other thing I learned was to hand wash only – DO NOT PUT IN DISHWASHER! Harsh cleaning agents can discolor your cookware.  Ya’ learn something new everyday!

So, there’s my lecture for today.  Stop being cheap and go buy some decent cookware already.

5 Responses to “Wanna lose weight? It’s all about the Pots and Pans”


  1. March 8, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    Thank you for slimming our butts back down to size, Ma’am. Now that we’re losing weight in the natural way, maybe we should take the lipo-suction fund and get you a big beautiful freezer for the basement.

    Love you!

    • March 8, 2010 at 10:16 pm

      It is my extreme pleasure and honor to slim our butts down. A big freezer would be nice……

  2. March 8, 2010 at 9:59 pm

    I wonder if I should handwash my tephlon non-stick pans? I notice sometimes things start sticking to them. We make everything from scratch at home, using fresh ingredients, and combined with my new excercise regime, I am losing weight without dieting. I love it. It’s almost effortless (except when I am working out and end up melting into a puddle of sweat).

  3. March 8, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    Hi Nikki!

    Yes, I would recommend hand washing all pots and pans, non-stick and otherwise. I really see the difference since I bought the new ones and am really taking good care of them. I don’t think I ever read the care instructions for cookware before because I thought I knew everything about that sort of care. Shows you what I know! So, that being said, always read instructions and hand wash our cookware! Congrats on the natural weight loss! It’s really fun and easy when you give no thought, right? Take care!

    Patty

  4. April 26, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    I thought I was doing a good thing by using the cooking spray also until my last Paula Deen acquisition which said not to do that. Non stick pans don’t really need anything to assist in the cooking. I am always looking for ways to be healthier.


Leave a Reply

Foodbuzz

Foodbuzz
Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 102 other followers


