27
Feb
10

Copy Cat, Dirty Rat………….sort of


I was reading the latest post on the Christine Can Cook blog (look for it on my blog roll located right over there —–>) two days ago and it was all about pancakes.  She had oodles of pictures of all of the pancakes she had recently made.  I love her honest response to  the variety of recipes that she tried.  She graded them from A+ to an actual F (you know that had to be one crappy pancake to earn an F!)  I’ve had pancakes on the brain ever since.  All that melting butter and syrup probably can’t be good for my mind, but I just had to give in and make pancakes for breakfast this morning. 

Cornmeal Griddle Cakes with pure maple syrup and Fried Potatoes & Soyrizo

There’s a restaurant here  in Portland (Vita Cafe on Alberta) that serves these yummy cornmeal cakes and I have been craving them.  Since it is Saturday and I like to stay in my PJ’s pretty much all weekend, I decided to attempt to re-create these breakfast treats in my own kitchen.  I think mine turned out better than Vita’s! 

I found a recipe for Indian Griddle Cakes in “Prairie Home Cooking ” by Judith M. Fertig.  These cakes are feather light and have a slight crunch to them due to the cornmeal.  Although the book pairs these treats with creamed chicken (really?), they are fantastic with sweet butter and pure maple syrup.

The breakfast preparation began with making fried potatoes:

Fried potatoes with soyrizo

I steamed one small Yukon gold potato, fried it up until crispy, added chopped onion, kosher salt, fresh cracked pepper and a little soyrizo.  Soyrizo is vegetarian chorizo sold at Trader Joe’s and most upscale markets.  I love it in everything! 

Thin cornmeal batter ladled into hot, oiled skillet

I cooked the cakes until they bubbled a bit and were slightly dry on the edges, and when I flipped it over…………………………………….. 

Perfectly golden cornmeal griddle cake!

Wow!  The word “gorgeous” came to mind.  I think this was the most beautiful pancake I ever made. 

We sat down and proceeded to slather a bit of butter over the top and maple syrup was free poured like it was our birthday!  Oh, wait a minute, it still is our birth month, so I guess this was our final food celebration of the month as tomorrow is juice fast Sunday.  Way cool! 

Here is the adapted recipe from Judith M. Fertig’s  book: 

Cornmeal Griddle Cakes

Serves 2 – 3 people

 

1/4 teaspoon kosher salt 

1/4 teaspoon baking soda 

1 1/2 teaspoons sugar 

1/4 teaspoon baking powder 

1/4 cup flour 

1/2 cup plus 1 tablespoon cornmeal 

1 egg, beaten 

1 tablespoon corn oil 

1/2 cup buttermilk 

2 tablespoons – 1/4 cup half n half 

Mix together all of the dry ingredients in a medium mixing bowl.  Combine egg, oil, and buttermilk in a separate bowl.  Combine liquid with dry and stir to make a smooth batter.  Add enough half n half to make a thin batter.  Heat a griddle or skillet until very hot, brush with oil.  Ladle about 1/4 – 1/3 cup batter and cook until top is bubbly and the bottom turns light brown.  Flip and cook until the bottom turns light brown.  Keep pancakes warm until ready to serve. 

 

4 Responses to “Copy Cat, Dirty Rat………….sort of”


  1. February 27, 2010 at 11:56 pm

    Mmmmm… these were some amazing pancakes! So light and full of subtle flavors. As we were eating, it occurred to us that whipped honey butter would be amazing on these cakes, that subtle sweet flavor enhancing the subtle cornmeal notes without overpowering them.

    And my lovely lady is so cute in her pajamas all day on Saturday too!

  2. March 4, 2010 at 6:55 pm

    Patty,

    What are you doing to me? Now you know I’m going to have to try these… and just as I was beginning to kick the habit… 🙂

    Hope all is well!

  3. 3 Angel Kelly
    March 6, 2010 at 5:30 am

    yum! we were just talking about pancakes yesterday!

  4. May 19, 2010 at 3:20 pm

    I am positively swooning over your pancakes!! It’s my favourite food! For breakfast lunch or dinner 🙂


Leave a Reply

Foodbuzz

Foodbuzz
Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 102 other followers


