24
Jan
10

Back in the Blogging Saddle


Individual Chocolate Buttermilk Cake with Nutella Buttercream between the layers and Hazelnut Buttercream on the outside with candied hazelnut garnish. Happy Birthday Boss!

Well, it’s been far too long since I’ve posted anything here.  It’s not that I have not been baking and cooking, because, well, um, that’s what I do.  I’ve been busy and lazy at the same time.  Busy enjoying life and lazy about blogging about it.  I have two upcoming cooking classes that I am teaching and hope that they spur me to do more with my talent.  I am so pleased to announce that I am now offering small, intimate cooking classes in my kitchen. 

Can you believe that I have had over 1,200 hits on my Elephant Cupcake post?  Amazing!  If anyone out there has actually followed my instructions and made these cute critters, I would love to see some photos.  Anyone?  Anyone? Bueller? Anyone? 

A couple of weeks ago I had a client order a birthday cake for herself.  Anyone who bakes a lot knows that cakes usually dome up as they bake and are not perfectly flat when they come out of the oven.  After a cake cools down, a baker will wrap and chill the cake.  Once nice and chilled, it firms the cake up so it is easier to work with.  At this point the baker will grab a nice long serrated blade and remove that pesky dome so the cake layer becomes nice and flat and easy to frost.  What do you then do with that left over cake dome?  Well, I have done a lot of things with those pieces.  I love to make giant Susie Q’s or Ding Dongs with ‘em.  Turn one dome over so the flat side is facing up.  Frost with a generous layer of frosting (especially vanilla buttercream) then top with the other dome.  Next you pour chocolate ganache over the whole thing and smooth with an offset spatula and chill.  I used to make these things at work.  We always called them Giant Susie Q’s because Giant Ding Dong might not go over so well…….. 

So, what did I do with the dome top of that last cake I made?  I made the cutest individual cake ever for my spouse’s boss!  It was his birthday and we had already planned to take him to dinner to celebrate.  And what’s a birthday celebration without a cake? 

I took a stainless steel ring (you could use a cookie/biscuit cutter) and punched three circles out of the dome.  Then I leveled them with a serrated blade, and frosted between each layer and the outside and piped a decorative border around the top and bottom using a wee pastry tip.  I placed the tiny cake in an upside down lid of a circular Ziploc container to use as a base and then screwed the bowl part on to serve as a cake carrier.  Genius, no?  It was a perfect way to transport his cake to the restaurant.

The cake and wrapped gift were for the boss; the rest is just to show scale. And yes, that is MY Barbie, one of many!

7 Responses to “Back in the Blogging Saddle”


  1. January 25, 2010 at 6:42 pm

    Hands down, you’re as awesome as awesome comes! Glad you’re back in the blogosphere.

    LOVE the Barbie, by the way. I’ve never seen one with quite that much spunk before!

    • January 25, 2010 at 9:39 pm

      Hi Megan,

      Seriously, you have to come see the Barbie collection in our billiards room. There’s a guest bed with your name on it.

      XOXO,
      Katie

  2. January 25, 2010 at 7:03 pm

    Thank you, sweet Megan. I love this Barbie, too. She’s called Black Canary and she is a DC comic character. But I like her because she is so HOT! Katie got me my first Black Canary for a wedding present and she stays in her box. I had to get another one so I could play with her!

    Good to hear from you. Life is great here and hope it is with you as well.

    Love,

    Patty

  3. January 25, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    Oh, my beloved spouse failed to mention that there were 2 more teeny little cakes made later that day; one for me and one for her, that we enjoyed in the honeymoon suite of our favorite Oregon Coast hotel that weekend. The electrical storm rolling in off the sea, and the raging ocean pounding the storm wall just below our balcony were the perfect puncuation to these wonderfully delicious little cakes.

    Let’s do it again!

    XOXO,
    Katie

  4. January 25, 2010 at 10:22 pm

    I didn’t want to make anyone jelous. But the cakes and the storm were truly beautiful, each in their own right.

  5. 6 Robert
    January 31, 2010 at 10:35 pm

    Patty,
    The little hazelnut cake was scrumptious. I enjoyed it immensely even without knowing of its kinky association with Black Canary Barbie. Many thanks.
    I hope you and your Katie have a wonderful birth-week.
    Robert

    • January 31, 2010 at 11:36 pm

      So, Robert, now that you know about the cake’s association with the Black Canary Barbie, sort of makes the all the more tasty, right? Thank you for the pre-birthday dinner and the yummy Moonstruck hand picked truffles. We love you so much!!!

      Patty


Leave a Reply

Foodbuzz

Foodbuzz
Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 102 other followers


