29
Dec
09

By the time we got to VegStock…….


For years I have been buying boxed vegetable stock.  Call me lazy for I know it is the truth.  The real truth is that vegetable stock is so easy to make.  Most of us have the stuff on hand to make a good flavorful veg stock, right?  And really, it doesn’t have to simmer for hours, however I believe that intensifies the flavor.

I used to make veggie stock when I had my business, Naked Baker.  I made a large batch every 3 days or so.  Now, I don’t know as I need to make it that often for my home kitchen, but once a week is certainly doable.  And don’t think it is only for soup.  I use it instead of water when I cook rice, couscous and quinoa.  It adds a subtle flavor to all grains.  It’s great for thinning out refried beans so you don’t have to add a bunch of oil.  It’s even nice to drink on a cold, snowy day or when you are under the weather.

It holds in the refrigerator for about 4 days and it is totally freezable.

You can't really see 'em but there are carrots, celery and potatoes in there

 

Vampire Gran’s Vegetable Stock

1 large onion, any variety you like, cut in large pieces

3 stalks of celery, cut in large pieces

3 large carrots, cut in large pieces

1 large potato, cut into chunks

6 large cloves of garlic

2 bay leaves

Kosher salt to taste

3 tablespoons black pepper corns or coarsely ground pepper to taste

crushed red pepper, to taste, if you want it to have a kick

water

Using the largest pot you own, fill 3/4 full with water.  Add all of the veggies and spices.  Bring to a boil.  Lower heat to a nice simmer and just let it do it’s thing for at least an hour.  If you are not in a hurry to use it right away, let it go longer.  When it reaches desired strength, strain it through a sieve into a large container and toss out the veggies.

Super easy, right?

22 Responses to “By the time we got to VegStock…….”


  1. December 30, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    My sister just asked me yesterday if it was possible to make veggie stock out of the odds and ends of vegetables after cooking a big meal. I just sent this to her. The answer? YES!

    • December 30, 2009 at 6:51 pm

      Thanks for sending my recipe on to your sister. I hope she likes it. Easy and tasty is always a winning combination! Thanks for reading my blog.

  2. 3 Bob
    December 30, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    Your recipe reads really well, if it wasn’t quite so sunny here, today, I’d put on a pot just to give-it-a-go! The coming weekend promises to be quite miserable for outdoor life but perfect for trying out Vampire Gran’s Vegetable Stock.

    Thanks for publishing your recipe,
    Bob

    • December 30, 2009 at 6:54 pm

      Hi Bob!

      Thanks for checking out my blog and recipe. I do hope you give it a go and let me know what you think. No sun here today, just snow. Have a wonderful day.

  3. 5 barbara
    December 30, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    I to prepare veggie stock in a similar fashion. I store the veggies in the stock as it intensifies the flavor. Then I remove the veggies and store broth in freezer. I also use elephant garlic as it has a more delicate flavor then good old fashioned garlic.

    • December 30, 2009 at 6:56 pm

      Hello Barbara,
      Yes, I like to let the veggies just sit in the broth for a long time, too. Elephant garlic sounds like a great idea. After posting my recipe yesterday, I made a batch of broth using a lot of crushed red pepper and I threw in some spinach too. I cooked some brown rice in it and the flavor was heavenly!

  4. 7 barbara
    December 30, 2009 at 4:58 pm

    oh yes, its fabulous to have on hand!

  5. 8 Tri
    December 30, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    Mmmm…sounds yummy! I’m a vegetarian and usually buy the boxed vegan vegetable stock. I think I’ll make this recipe today. Thank you!

    • December 30, 2009 at 7:00 pm

      Greetings Tri,

      You will save a lot of money by making your own and have the satisfaction of knowing you made it yourself. It’s also much lower in sodium than the boxed broths. Have an awesome day!

  6. December 30, 2009 at 7:03 pm

    Veg-stock is a great thing to have on hand, I use it to accent all sorts of things. It’s obviously great to have large amounts so you can whip up soup, but sometimes I also add it to simple stir-fried greens like kale, or collard greens, to give them a little moisture and extra flavor.

    I like making my own stock, and will usually save my plant refuse from the week and then finally boil the heck out of it until I get a generic broth. As I cook with different veggies each week, the stock is always slightly different… but always comes out fairly chill. Be mindful that some veggies will dominate your stock, such as ginger scraps, beet skins, et cetera. Happy cooking!

    Octopoe
    http://octopoe.wordpress.com/

    • December 30, 2009 at 7:14 pm

      Variety truly is the spice of life! My stocks are always different depending on the veggies on hand. Mushrooms are good for a richer flavor. Thanks for looking at my blog and sharing your thoughts. And Happy Cooking right back at ya!

  7. December 30, 2009 at 7:22 pm

    Hi Darling! If I get a vote, I’d be more inclined to use regular garlic (preferably purple garlic.) As a garlic lover, I say the stronger the flavor, the better.

    Love you!

    • December 30, 2009 at 9:04 pm

      You know I always use regular garlic. If you can find us some purple, bring it. We do love our garlic – funny how it doesn’t deter this vampire!

  8. 14 3
    December 30, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    Your recipe reads really well, if it wasnt quite so sunny here, today, Id put on a pot just to give-it-a-go! The coming weekend promises to be quite miserable for outdoor life but perfect for trying out Vampire Grans Vegetable Stock.Thanks for publishing your recipe,
    BobHi Bob!Thanks for checking out my blog and recipe. I do hope you give it a go and let me know what you think. No sun here today, just snow. Have a wonderful day.

  9. December 31, 2009 at 3:00 am

    But why would you toss out the veggies?

    • December 31, 2009 at 7:16 pm

      I toss out the veggies because they are extremely overcooked and no longer appealing to me. You don’t have toss them out. That’s just what I do. What would you do with soft, mushy vegetables?

      • December 31, 2009 at 8:19 pm

        I save up my veg scrap from the week, boil the heck out of them, and then use the broth in cooking… but that mushy vegetable matter leftover doesn’t have much use, so I just compost it! Yay for composting.

  10. 18 Angel Kelly
    December 31, 2009 at 5:55 am

    i’m gonna make it too…..i have a bunch of broccoli stems…would it be weird to put them in?…i guess not if i made a cream of broccoli soup with it………now ya got me going!

  11. 19 a
    December 31, 2009 at 9:33 am

    منتديات زحمه ,
    منتدى زحمه ,
    مسلسلات زحمه

  12. 20 barbara
    December 31, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    I would not add broccoli to your vegetable stock since Long term storage would cause the stock to become quite tart. You will also be limited as far as usage is concerned. Yes for Broccoli soup it will be fine, but that is it. I would blanch the brocoli in the soup instead of letting them simmer. Remove them and use the stock and your blanced stems for your broccoli soup recipe. Good luck!

  13. 21 barbara
    December 31, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    oh, by the way, baking bread today. Testing some recipes in a cookbook for review. Italian Panella’s just like you still see in the italian bakeries! Perfect for dipping into soup… It’s cold outside!

  14. January 2, 2010 at 1:50 pm

    Happy New Year, Patty!

    I hope you’re well, and I read the funny comment about garlic & vampires — made me giggle.
    I baked cookies and cornbread last week and thought of you. I don’t cook often, but if I do, you pop into my mind. “How would Patty do it?”

    Lots of love to you!


Leave a Reply

Foodbuzz

Foodbuzz
Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 102 other followers


