29
Oct
09

Lemon Coconut Pixies


Last year I received a Hershey’s Recipe Box as a birthday gift from a friend.  “I hope you don’t already have this,” she said, wringing her hands and furrowing her brow.   She worries too much.  I was delighted to receive a gift; even better when it is food related.  At first I thought that it was just a tin box with old fashioned Hershey’s pictures on it.

I haven't owned a recipe box in years!

On closer inspection, I was delighted to see that it was filled with recipe cards, complete with photos of the finished products.

Lots of yummy ideas in here!

So, fast forward to one and three quarters years into  the future (present time).  I finally made a recipe from the Hershey’s Box!  And guess what?  No chocolate involved!  Don’t get me wrong, I love chocolate!  But I was curious what kind of cookies old Hershey came up with that did not include their signature chocolate.  Since I had coconut and fresh lemon in my kitchen and since we love both of these flavors, I decided on the Lemon Coconut Pixies.

They turned out great!

I brought a few to my friend, Mark, at work the day after I made them.  He went nuts!  “These are so professional!  It’s like something I would get at a fancy bakery!  They melt in your mouth!”  Mark is easy to please.  I will tell you that they are better the following day and the day after that, as the flavors become more distinct.  And paired with a hot cup of tea, delicious!

These would be great for a wedding or a baby or bridal shower.  Really nice for an afternoon tea party.  Or good when you are sitting at your computer, hammering out your latest blog entry, as I am doing right now.  I hope the powdered sugar doesn’t muck up my keyboard too much……

LEMON COCONUT PIXIES

1/4 cup (1/2 stick) butter, softened

1 cup granulated sugar

2 eggs

1 1/2 tsp freshly grated lemon peel

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1 cup MOUNDS Sweetened Coconut flakes*

Powdered sugar

Beat butter, granulated sugar, eggs and lemon peel in a large bowl until well blended.  Stir together flour, baking powder and salt; gradually add to lemon mixture, beating until blended.  Stir in coconut.  Cover; refrigerate dough about 1 hour or until firm enough to handle.  Shape into 1 inch balls; roll in powdered sugar.  Place 2 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheet.

Bake in a preheated 300 degree oven for 15 to 18 minutes or until edges are set.  Cool completely.  Store in a tightly covered container in a cool, dry place.

*  I did not use MOUNDS coconut.  I used what I had on hand.  I put that in this entry because that is what made it a Hershey’s recipe.  I’m sure my coconut came from a bulk bin at Winco!  But it still did the job and tasted yummy.

Here, take a closer look.

9 Responses to “Lemon Coconut Pixies”


  1. October 30, 2009 at 2:12 am

    Wow, what a great post AND a great looking cookie! Coconut and lemon… Who knew? Seriously, I could taste them with every word you wrote.

  2. 2 Mary Riley
    January 2, 2010 at 8:50 am

    Hi Patty,

    I made these cookies for Christmas, and while they tasted great, I had a bit of trouble with the dough. I rolled them into fairly small balls, but they spread WAAAAYYY out on the parchament paper and became quite large and flat. They also stuck to the parchament! First time I can recall that happening with a cookie! I am wondering why. I followed the recipe exactly, chilled the dough, everything. Does this happen for you when you make them? Anyway, they were very tasty and I will make them again, just wondering if you have any advice for me.

    Also, I have a problem with a different recipe (not one of yours) which I have made several times and is very tasty, but the topping separates from the bottom crust, and I wonder if I tell you the ingredients and how it is made, you might have a clue for me as to how to prevent this separating. It is a chocolate pecan bar, made with a crust of flour, brown sugar and butter mixed until crumbly (it is a very dry mixture), then patted and pressed into the pan. Then, chopped pecans are sprinkled over the top, and a boiled butter and brown sugar mixture is poured over the pecans and it is baked. When done, chocolate chips are sprinkled over the top, and lightly spread as they melt. When cooled and cut, the chocolate-nut top half separates from the bottom crust half and they come apart. Do you have any idea how to prevent this? Thanks so much, and Happy New Year!

  3. May 2, 2010 at 5:56 pm

    I’m printing this right now and making these cookies. I discovered your blog yesterday, I really like it.

    • May 2, 2010 at 7:09 pm

      Thank you, Patrick! I’m always happy to have a new reader, especially one who leaves a nice comment. Hope you enjoy the cookies as much as I do!

      VG

      • May 2, 2010 at 9:00 pm

        Just took them out of the oven, hmmm they’re delicious! The powdered sugar on them disappeared after cooking, but they’re still good 😀
        If anyone reads this comment: you HAVE to place them 2 inches apart! =)

  4. May 2, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    Yay! Can I come over for some cookies? I’ll break my Sunday juice fast for one!

    • May 2, 2010 at 9:24 pm

      Sure! But it’ll take you a while to get here… I’m in Argentina! 😀

  5. May 2, 2010 at 10:48 pm

    Well, we do like to travel!


Leave a Reply

Foodbuzz

Foodbuzz
Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 102 other followers


