19
Oct
09

Root Beer Cake


Root Beer Barrels and A&W Root Beer Jelly Bellies complete this Root Beer Cake

Root Beer Barrels and A&W Root Beer Jelly Bellies complete this Root Beer Cake

My friend Emily had a birthday on October 15th.  It was a pleasure and an honor to make a special cake celebrating her turning a quarter of a century this year.  The fact that I am over  a half a century old and old enough to be her mother doesn’t interfere with us being good friends.  Emily is my grasshopper.  I am her sensei in the food world.  We enjoy getting together often and talking for hours about food and recipe development.

We have an on going joke about how excited people get when they are offered root beer in our home.  I think it is pretty funny, running down the list of beverages in the fridge.  Beer, wine (not in fridge, of course!), water, juice, root beer.  ROOT BEER!  Every time, without fail, someone gets excited about root beer.  One night, Emily and Chuck were over for dinner and I start offering drink options.  Emily pipes up “ROOT BEER”!  From that night on, she’s on a root beer jag.  It seemed only fitting that I should invent a root beer cake for her birthday.

 

Root Beer Cake

1 cup butter, softened

½ cup canola oil

2 ½ cups granulated sugar

5 eggs, room temperature

3 cups cake flour, sifted

2 tsp baking soda, sifted with flour

2 tsp root beer syrup

¾ cup root beer, room temperature

Grease 2   9” round cake pans and line bottoms with parchment paper 

Using an electric mixer, cream butter, oil and sugar until light and fluffy. 

Add eggs, one at a time and beat well.  Mix in flour mixture, one cup at a time and beat well.  Add syrup and root beer and mix well. 

Pour batter, evenly divided, into prepared cake pans.  Bake in a preheated 325° oven for about 50 minutes, until toothpick comes out clean.  Cool on wire rack.  Remove cake from pans when cool, wrap and refrigerate until ready to frost.  Cooling the cakes make it easier to slice into four layers.

I used the buttercream recipe in the “A Fall Themed Birthday Cake” post omitting the melted chocolate and adding about 1/4 cup or more of Torani Classic Root Beer Syrup.  To make a more pronounced root beer flavor, I chucked a bunch of root beer barrel hard candies into the food processor and made root beer sugar, that I sprinkled over the top of each cake layer after I had frosted it with buttercream.  To be honest, it didn’t taste as root beery as I had hoped, but everyone really seemed to like it.  I think next time I will use the frosting recipe from the Elephant Cupcake post and add the root beer syrup to that.  If I like it better, I’ll let you know.

 

6 Responses to “Root Beer Cake”


  1. October 20, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    That’s one cute cake… like you, Madam Patty Cakes.

    I love you!

    Miss Katie

  2. October 20, 2009 at 7:17 pm

    Wow! What a super job you did on this cake and such a novel idea! Terrific. It looks mouth watering good.

  3. October 21, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    You are so creative, it’s wild! Who would have thought of that besides you? Genius!

  4. October 23, 2009 at 5:49 pm

    Hi! I followed you here from a comment you left on my blog (you’re my first non-spam comment!) and so I thought I should skim over yours and find out who it was that discovered my random corner on the intertrons.

    I thought this cake was brilliant. Root-beer cake? Why hadn’t anyone else thought of that? Shame on the world.

    Anyways, it’s always nice to stumble across random food blogs, I find. So many yummy things in the world, so little time…! 🙂

  5. November 22, 2009 at 3:32 am

    Beautiful! Unique and fun.

    (I can’t help but say under my breath as I scroll through your pages: “how can someone cook/bake this much?” You have SO many great posts!)

    I leave you,

    Drooling


Leave a Reply

Foodbuzz

Foodbuzz
Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 102 other followers


