01
Oct
09

Spicy Cinnamon Sugar


Sweet & Spicy Cinnamon Sugar

Sweet & Spicy Cinnamon Sugar

You know what I think I like best about creating recipes?  Taking a simple comment and running with it.  This morning, Katie and I were eating sourdough toast with butter.  Katie went for the ground habenero chile in the spice cabinet and liberally applied it to her toast.  The woman likes everything spicy.  Then she joked “wouldn’t it be funny to offer this to someone thinking they were getting cinnamon toast?”  What can I say; my wife is a sick woman.

An idea clicked in my foodie brain and this next recipe was born.  I love sweet and spicy!  This simple, spicy sugar is great on toast with butter but I think it would be good on oatmeal or roll cookie dough in it before baking.  OOOH!!!  Snickerdoodles!  Ginger cookies!  Sugar cookies!  Try it and tell me what you use it on.  I think I’m making some snickerdoodles today.

SPICY CINNAMON SUGAR

Stir together in small bowl

1/2 CUP SUGAR

2 TBSP CINNAMON

1/4 TSP HABENERO POWDER

 

That’s it, just cinnamon toast with a spicy kick.  You can use cayenne or chipotle powder if habenero isn’t available in your area or it’s just too hot for you.

When I was in Weight Watchers several years ago, there was this toast spread I used to eat.  Fat free ricotta, cinnamon and sugar substitute.  I deluded myself into thinking this was some tasty stuff, but anything flavoured with artificial sweetener pretty much sucks.  But, fat free ricotta and this spicy mix is great!  And nothing artificial about it.

I think it would be good mixed in with nut butters, too.  And maybe ice cream, the home made variety.  You could toss it in buttered popcorn.

CAUTION:  Will cause sneezing and coughing while you are mixing it.  Stir carefully.  Used with just butter on toast will clear your sinuses, so it will be great if you suffer from colds and flu this season.  Mixing with the ricotta settles it down as far as the sneeze factor goes but it still packs the heat.

3 Responses to “Spicy Cinnamon Sugar”


  1. 1 innerjoy
    October 3, 2009 at 7:16 pm

    Hiya, Patty!
    I’m not a fan of spicy ordinarily, but I’m a huge fan of your creative side. Wow, girl! You guys did it again. My friend would probably LOVE this.
    Recover well, and take care of yourself! Oh, and thanks for continuing to write. I love reading your posts!
    ~ Megan

    • October 3, 2009 at 7:40 pm

      As always, Megan, thanks for keeping track of me and my latest creations. This stuff is not for the faint of heart or mild flavour fan. It does pack the heat! Have your friend give it a try and let me know how they like it.

      Recovery is going pretty well. I think I exhaust myself though, because I can’t seem to stay out of the kitchen or away from the computer! Thank God I have Katie to help me.

      Love ya!

      Patty

      PS: Have you looked at the Chocolate Banana Ice Cream post yet? Yummy! Right up your alley.

      • 3 innerjoy
        October 5, 2009 at 12:29 am

        I looked at that delicious recipe and ended up eating a pint of ice cream as a result. Autumn has been a teasing temptress and I have very little willpower sometimes. However, I am not deterred and will continue visiting your delicious blog.

        Rest up, my friend, and heal well!
        Oh and God Bless Katie!


Leave a Reply

Foodbuzz

Foodbuzz
Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 102 other followers


