29
Aug
09

Come On-A My House


Yes, you either think of Rosemary Clooney or “The Girls Next Door” theme song when you hear that tune.  I will admit to being sucked into Hef’s reality show (?) a time or two.  But I was thinking more along the lines of having people over.  We had brand new guests over last evening.  I did my usual, “I’ll just put a few things out to nibble on” routine.  I love to cook and I love to feed people.  I don’t know what the girls expected last evening, but I’m pretty sure everyone had plenty to eat and a good time to boot.  Here is a shot of the little nosh spread.

A light repast ala Vampiregran

A light repast ala Vampiregran

Fruit and cheese board included grapes, blackberries and chocolate dipped strawberries paired with cheddar, spicy cheese curds, herbed goat Gouda and BellaVitano Raspberry cheese.  That last listed cheese was described by the following “A unique Parmesean taste with creamy cheddar texture soaked in New Glarus Raspberry Tart Ale.”  It is good!

Fruit and Cheese Board

Fruit and Cheese Board

I assembled a nice Caprese Salad with basil from our garden, organic tomatoes from work and fresh Mozzarella cheese.  Drizzled with extra virgin olive oil, Kosher salt and cracked black pepper, super tasty!

Caprese Salad

Caprese Salad

Yes, that is Vampiregran’s Famous Hummus in the background.  A quinoa (pronounced keen-wah) salad and crimini mushroom caps stuffed with soyrizo and Parmesean cheese rounded out the little snack.
Quinoa Salad

Quinoa Salad

I’ll post the recipe for this salad at another time.  It is a great summer treat, with raw fresh corn cut from the cob, crunchy celery and other goodies I’ll get into when I post the recipe.
So, next time you find yourself in Portland, don’t be shy.  Come on-a our house, especially if you are hungry.
7 Responses to “Come On-A My House”


  1. August 30, 2009 at 9:17 am

    That’s so funny – I was over at a friend’s house for the first time Saturday night with Andy and a similar spread was laid out for us. Great minds! Yours looks (as always – big surprise!) amazing.
    Ohhh, and Patty, do you happen to have any quick & easy beer bread recipes you could share at some point?

    Happy Sunday!!

    PS – I read Liara’s comment to your scone post and laughed so hard I nearly fell off my chair. Wildly popular TV show, indeed!

  2. August 30, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    Megan!

    I will find a recipe for beer bread for you. In fact, maybe I will try one out today and let you know what I think first. Yes, Liara’s comment made me laugh,too! Still putting out to the Universe that I need a food seal-a-meal thingy so I can send you some scones, cookies and treats!

    I’ll keep in touch. Have a great Sunday. We’re going out for breakfast!!!!

  3. August 31, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    Hi Megan,

    I think you’re in for a treat… Patty made a very nice beer bread yesterday with you in mind… We had company over and the bread was loved by all. Thanks for the request (I already had my treat.)

    XO, Katie

  4. 4 bwlight
    September 5, 2009 at 7:51 pm

    WOW just WOW. No, WOW & YUM! I really do want to come over!! Looks amazing & great pics!

    I feel bold enough to try your scone recipe either when I get to Chicago or when it’s under 100 in Phoenix! (But, I don’t have food processor, is there reasonable substitute? or indeed, I can get one if that’s what it takes – I’m ready for new steps!)

    • September 5, 2009 at 8:08 pm

      Wow! Thanks for the amazing response to my blog! Yes, you can substitute a pastry cutter or two butter knives for the food processor. Hold a knife in each hand and criss cross cut into the dry ingredients and butter until you get a mealy texture. I hope that makes sense. Please, please, please send me a picture of the scones when you make them. I want to have picture from everyone who tries this recipe. You can send it to the email address that is listed in my About page. Looking forward to hearing from you again. Thanks again for reading my blog!

  5. 6 Angel Kelly
    January 11, 2010 at 5:08 am

    I recognize this spread!

    It’s been lovely to spend time with you & hope to see you again soon!

    • January 25, 2010 at 11:03 pm

      I think that was the first time we met you lovely ladies, right? That was a yummy spread indeed and a wonderful summer day. We think you guys are pretty special.


Leave a Reply

Foodbuzz

Foodbuzz
Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 102 other followers


