10
Aug
09

Help! We have a Huge Plum Tree…


and it’s loaded!  So I searched on Epicurious.com and found over 800 recipes that contained plums of different varieties.  Most of the recipes called for black or red plums, on the firm side.  Our tree has what we believe to be greengage plums.  They are soft and super, drippy sweet on the inside encased in a pleasantly tart skin.  I’ve attempted to make a rustic tart with these plums and they get pretty soupy.  But the flavour is heavenly.

Yesterday I washed and cut up about 5 pounds of this lovely fruit and put it in a large pot.  I didn’t bother to peel the plums as the skins pretty much just slides off while you’re working with them.  To the pot I added:

1 1/2 cups sugar

1/4 cup honey with ginger (it’s a jar we received as part of a wedding present)

1 1/2 tsp cardamom

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. nutmeg

1 tsp. vanilla

You can add more or less of the spices or add whatever spice you prefer

Bring the contents of the pot to a boil and then simmer (lowest heat setting) for a couple of hours.  Cook until reduced by half.  Remove any skins that float up top or keep them in there if you want a more tart syrup.  Once the syrup is the desired consistency, I like to puree it with a stick blender, but a regular blender or food processor will work just as well.  You can store this syrup/sauce in the refrigerator or if you are into canning and jarring, go for it.

I had some day old  baguette slices so I beat an egg, a bit of soy milk, a tsp of sugar and a dash of vanilla together, dipped the slices and made French toast.  The contrast of the sweet tart syrip over the sweet battered bread was just the perfect mid afternoon treat.

I’m going to make frozen yogurt in my ice cream maker today.  I’ll be using some of this plum syrup/sauce in that.  I’ll let you all know how that turns out and I have high hopes.  Enjoy your day!

3 Responses to “Help! We have a Huge Plum Tree…”


  1. August 10, 2009 at 4:28 pm

    “You are the sunshine of my life
    That’s why I’ll always be around
    You are the apple of my eye
    Forever you’ll stay in my heart”

    Stevie Wonder sang it, I feel it… I love you!

  2. August 11, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    I do not have any recipes for plums of any kind, but my gosh, once again I’m wishing we lived closer than we do! Your descriptions of what you’ve done with those plums so far sounds divine.

    Katie – you lucky lady!

    (smile)

  3. August 11, 2009 at 11:35 pm

    Right now I have veggie chicken filets marinating in the plum syrup/sauce. I also placed 4 long springs of rosemary from our garden on top and I’m going to bake that and serve it over Basmati rice. We’re also having grilled corn salad, which I will blog about in the next day or two. Wish you couldcome to dinner and stop eating those fish tacos!


Leave a Reply

Foodbuzz

Foodbuzz
Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 102 other followers


